Ability To Use ANY Font In Editor

Requests new features for future versions.

Moderator: TopStyle Support

Ability To Use ANY Font In Editor

Postby celloguy » Mon Nov 23, 2009 11:56 am

Hi Stefan,

I am very sorry to bother you with this, but I wrote back in June, on the newsgroups, that:

"Perhaps on other people's computers these fonts are great, but I am running TS on an old laptop. In TS3.5, I can choose any font installed on the machine and am able therefore to find a font that looks really good--"usable"--on *my* machine.

The fonts you mention (Courier New, Consolas, Monaco, Bitstream Vera Sans Mono) are hard on my middle-aged eyes on *my* laptop, and on *my* laptop are jagged. On this same laptop, I can choose a font in the previous version of TS--Verdana--which is smooth as silk...that makes my work so much easier. Also, because I am also doing work in several other programs (in which I *am* able to choose a font of my choice that looks good on *my* computer), it is unfortunate to either (1) constantly adjust my eyes between different font settings in different programs or (2) be forced to change font settings in the other programs to those you mention which are so much worse on my eyes, in order to match the limited font choices in TS4.

I hope this explanation helps you to understand where I am coming from...the ability to choose any font on your system definitely helps to make each person's experience the best it can be."


SO...just wondering whether you still plan on restoring to TopStyle the functionality it had in 3.5 and, if you do plan on restoring it, when that might be?

I am in awe of the tremendous amount of work that you have put into TS4, knowing that you are a one-man shop. I really just ask again, since til now I still have to use 3.5 due to the font limitations of this new version. I must admit too that it is a little disconcerting to be excited about buying an upgrade, wanting so much to use it, and then not being able to use it due to something as basic as the ability to customize its UI in a way it had formerly had (which made it possible for me to use).

Please do not take offense...truly I do want to use the greatly-enhanced capabilities of your new version (and that is a compliment).

If you are not able to include this fix in a ver. 4 update, might you have any timeline you could share about when this functionality might be restored?

Many thanks,
David
celloguy
Rank 0 - Newcomer
Rank 0 - Newcomer
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 7:35 am

Re: Ability To Use ANY Font In Editor

Postby TopStyle Support » Tue Dec 01, 2009 3:37 pm

Currently, TopStyle 4 supports fixed-pitch fonts only. Luckily, there are some great fixed-pitch fonts out there, such as Consolas or Apple's Monaco. I'm sure you can find a fixed-pitch font that will suit your needs. Future versions might (or might not) support proportional fonts.
User avatar
TopStyle Support
Rank VI - Professional
Rank VI - Professional
 
Posts: 499
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 12:38 pm

Re: Ability To Use ANY Font In Editor

Postby frazor » Fri Feb 19, 2010 6:09 am

frazor
Rank II - Novice
Rank II - Novice
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2010 10:49 am


Return to TopStyle Feature Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests