Page 1 of 1

Running a spell check

Posted: Fri Sep 17, 2010 6:02 am
by ajtruckle
Hello

I am getting a bit confused here. I know that some pages have spelling errors. So I am running the whole site in batch mode. FRom what I can see the spelling check is ticked.

But I get no spelling errors listed.

Please advise correct way to detect them over the whole site.

Andrew

Re: Running a spell check

Posted: Fri Sep 17, 2010 10:40 am
by Albert Wiersch
Hi Andrew,

Do you have comment messages disabled?

Re: Running a spell check

Posted: Fri Sep 17, 2010 12:23 pm
by ajtruckle
Where is that? In the batch or general settings?

Re: Running a spell check

Posted: Fri Sep 17, 2010 12:56 pm
by Albert Wiersch
ajtruckle wrote:Where is that? In the batch or general settings?
Hello,

In V10, it is in the "Message Output" options page of the Validator Engine Options. Make sure "Comment messages" is checked, and make sure spell checking is enabled in the "Spell Checking" options page. You might also want to press the "Restore Spelling Message" button there. I hope this helps.

Re: Running a spell check

Posted: Fri Sep 17, 2010 12:56 pm
by ajtruckle
I think I switched it back on but after another process I still don't see errors.

Re: Running a spell check

Posted: Fri Sep 17, 2010 2:18 pm
by Albert Wiersch
ajtruckle wrote:I think I switched it back on but after another process I still don't see errors.
I plan on releasing an update soon that may help. If you want to try a pre-release, then please email me at support at htmlvalidator dot com.

If the update (v10.0030 or later) doesn't address this problem, then please let me know and I'll be happy to investigate further.