Spell checking

For technical support for all editions of CSS HTML Validator. Includes bug reports.
Post Reply
User avatar
Lou
Rank V - Professional
Rank V - Professional
Posts: 282
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2005 5:55 pm
Location: CO
Contact:

Spell checking

Post by Lou »

Hi all,

I ran into what appears to be an inconsistency in the way the spell checking works in the editor and valuator. I have a file that contain lines similar to the following:

1 <TITLE>Ophir Pass, CO</TITLE>

2 <META name="Keywords" content="Ophir Pass, CO">

3 <META name="description" content="Longitude, Latitude and elevation of Ophir Pass CO and the trail side sign">

4 <!-- Ophir Pass -->

5 <IMG src="./JPG/DSC00273.jpg"
width="600" height="450"
alt="sign on Ophir Pass">

6 <TD>Ophir Pass</TD>


The spell checking in the validator does not see Ophir in line #2.

In the editor spell checking only sees Ophir in line #1 and #6.

<Options> <Spelling Options...> is "Reset Defaults" (Ignore quoted lines NOT checked)
<Options> <Validator Engine Options...> <Options> <Validator 1> Enable Spell checking, Check in comments, Include number of times..., Sort..

Toggling "Ignore quoted lines" has no effect. Am I missing something?

The META keywords aren't check at all.

User avatar
Albert Wiersch
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3471
Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2004 9:23 am
Location: Near Dallas, TX
Contact:

Post by Albert Wiersch »

Sorry for the delay on this.

I've added this to the documentation (it should answer your question):

Performing a spell check in the editor works differently than performing a spell check using the validator engine. What words are checked depend on whether the spell check is performed in the editor or in the validator engine. If it is done in the editor, then words in HTML tags can be included or excluded depending on the Ignore markup languages option in Options->Spelling Options. When a spell check is done in the validator engine, a "smarter" approach is taken. Some words in relevant tags and attribute values may be checked, depending on what tag and attribute value it is. The spelling options in the Validator Engine Options, Validator 1 Tab also affect how the spell check is done in the validator.
Image
Albert Wiersch

User avatar
Lou
Rank V - Professional
Rank V - Professional
Posts: 282
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2005 5:55 pm
Location: CO
Contact:

Post by Lou »

Albert,
Thanks, you did conferm that I found all the places to set spelling options. Of course clearing Ignore markup Languages includes all file names and stuff in the editor and includes weridness in the validator ( &copy (1x), &deg (2x), Ophir (5x)).

My real bottom line is that it appears (i.e. I can't figure out how to) that within the normal operation the common line of HTML

<META name="Keywords" content="Ophir Pass, CO">

the content words are not spell checked in either the editor or validator. On the other hand the content of

<META name="description" content="Longitude, Latitude and elevation of Ophir Pass CO and the trail side sign">
is spell checked.

When I did what you are doing, on my desk was a sign "Never Give Software to Users!" My sympathies.

Lou

User avatar
Albert Wiersch
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3471
Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2004 9:23 am
Location: Near Dallas, TX
Contact:

Post by Albert Wiersch »

Lou,

CSE HTML Validator does not check the content value for the meta keywords tag. It seems that it would make sense to do so because the value should be a list of words, so I've changed this in the latest configuration file. It should now check the spelling of the content attribute for both the meta keywords and description tags when a document is checked with the validator.

You can download the new configuration file here:
http://www.htmlvalidator.com/htmlval70cfg.zip
Image
Albert Wiersch

User avatar
Lou
Rank V - Professional
Rank V - Professional
Posts: 282
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2005 5:55 pm
Location: CO
Contact:

Post by Lou »

Albert,

Would you check the version of the htmlval70.cfg included in the zip. Its dated 17 Jun and does not resolve the spelling issue nor the ICRA issue.

Or I have really messes up my system.

I did note the update to the readme file. I think that should cover the configuration issues.

Lou

User avatar
Albert Wiersch
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3471
Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2004 9:23 am
Location: Near Dallas, TX
Contact:

Post by Albert Wiersch »

Lou wrote:Would you check the version of the htmlval70.cfg included in the zip. Its dated 17 Jun and does not resolve the spelling issue nor the ICRA issue.
You're right! I included the wrong one (an older one). I apologize for the trouble. Please try again.
Image
Albert Wiersch

User avatar
Lou
Rank V - Professional
Rank V - Professional
Posts: 282
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2005 5:55 pm
Location: CO
Contact:

Post by Lou »

Albert,

All works fine. Thanks again.

Lou

lrohre
Rank 0 - Newcomer
Rank 0 - Newcomer
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu May 24, 2007 8:51 am

Batch Wizard spell check returns quotation mark as error

Post by lrohre »

When I run the batch wizard to spell check a large directory of html files, I receive this error.

A quotation mark was found that is not within a tag. The character entity reference """ should be used instead of the quotation character.
if(typeof(Print_Link)=="function") {

All of the html files I check include the following:

<script>
if(typeof(Print_Link)=="function") {
Print_Link();

Any suggestion on how to exclude this string from the search? When I spell check individual files, I don't receive this error.

User avatar
Albert Wiersch
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3471
Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2004 9:23 am
Location: Near Dallas, TX
Contact:

Re: Batch Wizard spell check returns quotation mark as error

Post by Albert Wiersch »

lrohre wrote:Any suggestion on how to exclude this string from the search? When I spell check individual files, I don't receive this error.
Hello,

You may want to check the "Allow " in text" option in the Validator 2 tab of the Validator Engine Options.

If that isn't sufficient, then can you provide a Batch Wizard target list with some of the files you are checking that reproduces this problem and send it to support at htmlvalidator dot com?
Image
Albert Wiersch

lrohre
Rank 0 - Newcomer
Rank 0 - Newcomer
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu May 24, 2007 8:51 am

does this option appear in 7.01?

Post by lrohre »

Thank you for the quick response. I do not see the "Allow " in text" option however. Do you know if this option appears in version 7.01?

User avatar
Albert Wiersch
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3471
Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2004 9:23 am
Location: Near Dallas, TX
Contact:

Re: does this option appear in 7.01?

Post by Albert Wiersch »

lrohre wrote:Thank you for the quick response. I do not see the "Allow " in text" option however. Do you know if this option appears in version 7.01?
Hello,

In v7.0 it should be "Allow double quote in text" in the Validator 1 tab of the Validator Engine Options.
Image
Albert Wiersch

Post Reply