Unable to copy text in Message Window

For technical support for all editions of CSS HTML Validator. Includes bug reports.
Post Reply
Daf57
Rank 0 - Newcomer
Rank 0 - Newcomer
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2013 4:03 am

Unable to copy text in Message Window

Post by Daf57 » Thu Aug 15, 2013 4:11 am

Hi, did not find this as a known issue in FAQ or search - When I highlight any text in the Message Window (HTML Validator) and either right click>copy or use CTRL + C it will not copy the text. Is this intended behavior or a bug? There are times when I need to copy that error or warning text.

I'm using Windows 7 Professional and CSE HTML Validator Professional V12.02

Thanks
Daf

User avatar
Albert Wiersch
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3453
Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2004 9:23 am
Location: Near Dallas, TX
Contact:

Re: Unable to copy text in Message Window

Post by Albert Wiersch » Thu Aug 15, 2013 7:44 am

That's strange. I cannot reproduce this. Text copies as expected.

You are referring to the window titled "Message Window", where you can select, right-click and then choose copy, and not to the message in the "Message" tab in the Results Window, correct?

You should also be able to focus on the "Message Window" and press Ctrl+A and then Ctrl+C to copy the entire contents. If it's not working then I suspect something is interfering, perhaps some other software you are running.
Image
Albert Wiersch

Daf57
Rank 0 - Newcomer
Rank 0 - Newcomer
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2013 4:03 am

Re: Unable to copy text in Message Window

Post by Daf57 » Thu Aug 15, 2013 7:57 am

Hi Albert - thanks for the reply. I am unable to CTRL+A either...

Any ideas what would cause that behavior? I also use Top Style and it works fine. In fact no other software on this machine has this issue. Going to be very difficult to narrow down which particular application isn't getting along with CSE HTML Validator.

User avatar
Albert Wiersch
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3453
Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2004 9:23 am
Location: Near Dallas, TX
Contact:

Re: Unable to copy text in Message Window

Post by Albert Wiersch » Thu Aug 15, 2013 8:01 am

Sorry, I don't currently have any ideas as to why that would be. :(

Can you reboot your computer and see if the problem still exists?

Also, have you always had this issue or has it recently developed?
Image
Albert Wiersch

User avatar
RSteinwand
Rank VI - Professional
Rank VI - Professional
Posts: 600
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2008 2:12 pm
Location: Fargo, ND
Contact:

Re: Unable to copy text in Message Window

Post by RSteinwand » Thu Aug 15, 2013 8:52 am

To copy messages from the Message window:

Right-click and choose "Copy messages to clipboard". :wink:
Rick

User avatar
Albert Wiersch
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3453
Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2004 9:23 am
Location: Near Dallas, TX
Contact:

Re: Unable to copy text in Message Window

Post by Albert Wiersch » Thu Aug 15, 2013 8:54 am

RSteinwand wrote:To copy messages from the Message window:

Right-click and choose "Copy messages to clipboard". :wink:
Yep.. that's another option which can be done by right-clicking in the Results Window (but not the Message Window). :D

Of course it will copy ALL messages, unless the 'Selected Message Only' option is used.
Image
Albert Wiersch

User avatar
RSteinwand
Rank VI - Professional
Rank VI - Professional
Posts: 600
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2008 2:12 pm
Location: Fargo, ND
Contact:

Re: Unable to copy text in Message Window

Post by RSteinwand » Thu Aug 15, 2013 9:02 am

I assumed you'd use "selected message", which I used here:
Message: [HTML Tidy] Document content looks like HTML5
Rick

Daf57
Rank 0 - Newcomer
Rank 0 - Newcomer
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2013 4:03 am

Re: Unable to copy text in Message Window

Post by Daf57 » Thu Aug 15, 2013 9:04 am

Albert Wiersch wrote:
RSteinwand wrote:To copy messages from the Message window:

Right-click and choose "Copy messages to clipboard". :wink:
This does in fact work. However not in the message window - if I CTRL+A with the focus on the Message Window it selects all in the editor window and subsequent copy/pastes will be the contents of the edit window. Very odd.

User avatar
RSteinwand
Rank VI - Professional
Rank VI - Professional
Posts: 600
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2008 2:12 pm
Location: Fargo, ND
Contact:

Re: Unable to copy text in Message Window

Post by RSteinwand » Thu Aug 15, 2013 9:13 am

I had to toggle the message window under "view... windows" to see it's the right side, square window. I assumed it was the wider "message" on the left.

The text is the same as on the left (Message). Copy that instead.
Rick

User avatar
Albert Wiersch
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3453
Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2004 9:23 am
Location: Near Dallas, TX
Contact:

Re: Unable to copy text in Message Window

Post by Albert Wiersch » Thu Aug 15, 2013 9:25 am

Daf57 wrote:This does in fact work. However not in the message window - if I CTRL+A with the focus on the Message Window it selects all in the editor window and subsequent copy/pastes will be the contents of the edit window. Very odd.
I think I may have found the problem/bug. It seems this problem occurs when the Message Window is not docked. Can you dock the Message Window into the main CSE HTML Validator window and see if that fixes the problem? The default position is in the bottom right of the main window, as part of the Results Window which also defaults to the bottom of the main window as seen below.

Image
Image
Albert Wiersch

Daf57
Rank 0 - Newcomer
Rank 0 - Newcomer
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2013 4:03 am

Re: Unable to copy text in Message Window

Post by Daf57 » Thu Aug 15, 2013 9:30 am

That's it!!! :) Works perfectly when docked!

I use 2 monitors and I usually pull all tool bars and windows over to the 2nd monitor.

User avatar
Albert Wiersch
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3453
Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2004 9:23 am
Location: Near Dallas, TX
Contact:

Re: Unable to copy text in Message Window

Post by Albert Wiersch » Thu Aug 15, 2013 9:51 am

Daf57 wrote:That's it!!! :) Works perfectly when docked!

I use 2 monitors and I usually pull all tool bars and windows over to the 2nd monitor.
Great! I'm glad that works and sorry for the trouble... perhaps this is a bug in the component that CSE HTML Validator uses. I've made a note to keep this on my radar so hopefully I can or will find a solution/fix.
Image
Albert Wiersch

Daf57
Rank 0 - Newcomer
Rank 0 - Newcomer
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2013 4:03 am

Re: Unable to copy text in Message Window

Post by Daf57 » Thu Aug 15, 2013 10:03 am

Thank you for your help today - very impressed with the support available here. :)

Post Reply