Saving and opening preview window in v15.05

For technical support for all editions of CSS HTML Validator. Includes bug reports.
Post Reply
edintheclouds
Rank 0 - Newcomer
Rank 0 - Newcomer
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2007 4:23 pm

Saving and opening preview window in v15.05

Post by edintheclouds » Wed Oct 07, 2015 7:09 am

Hi,

Just downloaded v15.05, seems to have problem saving and opening preview window, takes a long time for both. CSE becomes unresponsive.
I have rebooted pc.
Can I reload older version with out losing data?

Cheers
Ed

User avatar
Albert Wiersch
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3453
Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2004 9:23 am
Location: Near Dallas, TX
Contact:

Re: Saving and opening preview window in v15.05

Post by Albert Wiersch » Wed Oct 07, 2015 8:06 am

Hi Ed,

I'm sorry for the trouble.

I have not had other reports of this. Are you able to describe in detail what you are doing that causes this problem so that I can try to reproduce the problem here?

If you still have v15.04 or v15.0x then you should be able to re-install that version of v15.05 without any serious consequences other than not having the latest updates & bug fixes.
Image
Albert Wiersch

edintheclouds
Rank 0 - Newcomer
Rank 0 - Newcomer
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2007 4:23 pm

Re: Saving and opening preview window in v15.05

Post by edintheclouds » Wed Oct 07, 2015 8:49 am

Hi Albert,

I was changing text in a web page and saving, which took 30 seconds or more. Then clicking preview pane which again takes a long time.
After the preview has opened I can go back and forth as normal.
The pc is new running windows 8.1

Many thanks

Ed

edintheclouds
Rank 0 - Newcomer
Rank 0 - Newcomer
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2007 4:23 pm

Re: Saving and opening preview window in v15.05

Post by edintheclouds » Wed Oct 07, 2015 9:06 am

Albert, added a screen grab with the editor greyed out.

Cheers

Ed
CSE 15.05 page.gif
CSE 15.05 page.gif (123.54 KiB) Viewed 4485 times

User avatar
Albert Wiersch
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3453
Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2004 9:23 am
Location: Near Dallas, TX
Contact:

Re: Saving and opening preview window in v15.05

Post by Albert Wiersch » Wed Oct 07, 2015 10:53 am

Ed, thank you! I will look further into this soon and get back to you.

Did going back to a previous version fix the problem?
Image
Albert Wiersch

edintheclouds
Rank 0 - Newcomer
Rank 0 - Newcomer
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2007 4:23 pm

Re: Saving and opening preview window in v15.05

Post by edintheclouds » Wed Oct 07, 2015 11:02 am

I haven't gone back to a previous version yet, I've left it for now.

Cheers
Ed

User avatar
Albert Wiersch
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3453
Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2004 9:23 am
Location: Near Dallas, TX
Contact:

Re: Saving and opening preview window in v15.05

Post by Albert Wiersch » Wed Oct 07, 2015 2:26 pm

Unfortunately I am having trouble reproducing this and I am also using Windows 8.1.

If you create a blank HTML file, type some text in it, then click the 'Preview' tab, then go back to the 'Editor' tab, type some more text in, click the 'Preview' tab again, then go back again, does it work correctly?

I'm wondering if the problem could be specific to something in the page you are previewing.

Note: You can use F8 to toggle the integrated web browser/preview.
Image
Albert Wiersch

edintheclouds
Rank 0 - Newcomer
Rank 0 - Newcomer
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2007 4:23 pm

Re: Saving and opening preview window in v15.05

Post by edintheclouds » Thu Oct 08, 2015 3:51 am

I have created a blank html, yes it works ok.

I've reinstalled v15.0001 I have an error report each time it starts, see attached file.


May be its this pc?

Cheers
Ed
Attachments
error message.gif
error message.gif (10.72 KiB) Viewed 4466 times

edintheclouds
Rank 0 - Newcomer
Rank 0 - Newcomer
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2007 4:23 pm

Re: Saving and opening preview window in v15.05

Post by edintheclouds » Thu Oct 08, 2015 5:15 am

Hi Albert,

I've just gone over the sequence of events. After updating CSE to v15.05 I added script from Google Analytics for tracking web pages.

I've installed v15.05 again. I then deleted the new Google tracking script, CSE 15.05 works fine no trouble!

I'm sorry for wasting your time, please ignore the post above.

Many thanks

Ed

User avatar
Albert Wiersch
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3453
Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2004 9:23 am
Location: Near Dallas, TX
Contact:

Re: Saving and opening preview window in v15.05

Post by Albert Wiersch » Thu Oct 08, 2015 10:52 am

Hi Ed,

No problem. I'm glad this is resolved, though I'm not exactly sure why the tracking script would cause problems, but I do know that various things can happen with "complicated" or "complex" pages and the integrated web browser. You may want to preview any problematic pages using Alt+F8 (external viewer/browser) or some other method.

The crash with v15.00 may have been due to early v15.00 bugs. We've released a lot of updates since then. I'm glad v15.05 is working as it should. :)
Image
Albert Wiersch

Post Reply