Link Checking - More Than 500

For technical support for all editions of CSS HTML Validator. Includes bug reports.
Post Reply
paulp575
Rank III - Intermediate
Rank III - Intermediate
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 1:20 pm
Location: Spokane WA
Contact:

Link Checking - More Than 500

Post by paulp575 » Sat Sep 30, 2017 12:52 am

I am getting a warning about having over 500 links in a file. The error window says HTML Validator will only display bad links. It gives me the option to change that. While the info in the window mentions how to change this, I'm not finding the place to change it.

I've attached a screenshot of the display window from v17.04.02.

Thanks.
Attachments
Over 500 Links.jpg
Over 500 Links.jpg (26.55 KiB) Viewed 85 times
paulp575

User avatar
Albert Wiersch
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3222
Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2004 9:23 am
Location: Near Dallas, TX
Contact:

Re: Link Checking - More Than 500

Post by Albert Wiersch » Sat Sep 30, 2017 8:04 am

Hello,

I'm sorry for the confusion. Please choose the Links tab in the Results Window and then right-click in the Results Window (but not directly on the tab) to see the context menu. Lastly choose 'Links->Show Only Bad Links When >500' to uncheck the option.

Show only bad links option in CSS HTML Validator
Image
Albert Wiersch

paulp575
Rank III - Intermediate
Rank III - Intermediate
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 1:20 pm
Location: Spokane WA
Contact:

Re: Link Checking - More Than 500

Post by paulp575 » Sat Sep 30, 2017 12:33 pm

I don't know what version of HTML Validator you are using; I don't see that; I'm using v17.04.02 Pro.
I've attached a screen shot of what I see when I right click on the "Links" tab.
Attachments
Over 500 Links-2.jpg
Over 500 Links-2.jpg (175.27 KiB) Viewed 72 times
paulp575

User avatar
Albert Wiersch
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3222
Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2004 9:23 am
Location: Near Dallas, TX
Contact:

Re: Link Checking - More Than 500

Post by Albert Wiersch » Sat Sep 30, 2017 12:39 pm

Hello,

Please try right-clicking on a link or anywhere in the Results Window instead of directly on the tab. In the next major release, I'll see if I can add the Links submenu to the context menu that appears when you right-click directly on the Links tab so it is there too.
Image
Albert Wiersch

paulp575
Rank III - Intermediate
Rank III - Intermediate
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 1:20 pm
Location: Spokane WA
Contact:

Re: Link Checking - More Than 500

Post by paulp575 » Sat Sep 30, 2017 1:02 pm

Right clicking on a link DOES work!

Might want to reword the dialog box that is displayed when there's more than 500 links so it specifically says to click on a link in the Results window.

Thanks.
paulp575

User avatar
Albert Wiersch
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3222
Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2004 9:23 am
Location: Near Dallas, TX
Contact:

Re: Link Checking - More Than 500

Post by Albert Wiersch » Sat Sep 30, 2017 1:38 pm

Great! Glad it works. :D

I'll either reword the tip or add the Links submenu to context menu for the tab itself in the next major release.

UPDATE: Right-clicking on the Links tab itself will now provide access to the Links submenu.
Image
Albert Wiersch

Post Reply