FireFox Plug-in Issue: No validation.

For technical support for all editions of CSS HTML Validator. Includes bug reports.
jbottero
Rank 0 - Newcomer
Rank 0 - Newcomer
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2008 12:05 am

Post by jbottero » Wed Jan 30, 2008 10:20 am

Lou wrote:No the plug-in is not stand-alone. The write-up says "Requires CSE HTML Validator for Windows."
Than I was on crack several months ago when I installed the FireFox plug-in and validation worked just fine?

Sorry to be a smartass about it, but *point of fact* I installed the plug-in *only* about 6 months ago, and it validated fine. Before you ask, I really can tell the difference between installing a plug-in and an application...

So when you say to get the plug-in to work, I have to install the full application, well it makes me wonder if there is an almost identical plug-in from a different author that works without installing a full application...

User avatar
Albert Wiersch
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3451
Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2004 9:23 am
Location: Near Dallas, TX
Contact:

Post by Albert Wiersch » Wed Jan 30, 2008 10:20 am

As Lou said, I would recommend you uncheck the Automatic Validation option in the add-on. I suspect that Firefox may be using the DLL in an unsafe way that may cause problems especially if there are simultaneous validations which there are more likely to be if Automatic Validation is on.

If you don't want to see the progress bar, you can go into the Validator Engine Options and check Never show progress bar in the General tab.

Also as Lou said, the add-on is not standalone, it requires a DLL that is included when CSE HTML Validator is installed.

I will try emailing the author of the add-on but he is often difficult to get a hold of. I wish I had more control over this add-on but unfortunately I do not.
Image
Albert Wiersch

jbottero
Rank 0 - Newcomer
Rank 0 - Newcomer
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2008 12:05 am

Post by jbottero » Wed Jan 30, 2008 12:41 pm

Albert Wiersch wrote:I will try emailing the author of the add-on but he is often difficult to get a hold of. I wish I had more control over this add-on but unfortunately I do not.
Thanks, I'll try these suggestions...

But I still think it's odd that in the past I had the plug-in working fine and had *never* installed the full version, yet you say that can't be so. Odd...

Oh well... It's a nice product and I'll probably end up buying the full version...

User avatar
Albert Wiersch
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3451
Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2004 9:23 am
Location: Near Dallas, TX
Contact:

Post by Albert Wiersch » Wed Jan 30, 2008 12:46 pm

jbottero wrote:But I still think it's odd that in the past I had the plug-in working fine and had *never* installed the full version, yet you say that can't be so. Odd...
It works with the lite edition as well so if you installed that then it will work. Maybe you don't consider that the "full" version though (hence the confusion). The add-on definitely does require the lite, standard, or pro edition to work.

I'm glad you like the product!
Image
Albert Wiersch

jbottero
Rank 0 - Newcomer
Rank 0 - Newcomer
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2008 12:05 am

Post by jbottero » Wed Jan 30, 2008 6:39 pm

Nope, this is the first time I've installed the full ("lite") version. In the past I only installed the FF plug-in the way all plug-ins are installed (through the FF install GUI)...

But it's your application, I'll have to take your word for it!

User avatar
MikeGale
Rank VI - Professional
Rank VI - Professional
Posts: 711
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2004 1:50 pm
Location: Tannhauser Gate

Post by MikeGale » Wed Jan 30, 2008 9:24 pm

I've found a cause for the validator failing to fire.

It's interaction with another addon in Firefox.

I switched off the other addons (IDM, Firebug, DOM inspector, interclue and Web Developer) and all tested pages now fire the validator.

jbottero, you might like to check that out.

User avatar
CaryD
Rank II - Novice
Rank II - Novice
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 2:18 pm
Location: CA

Post by CaryD » Wed Jan 30, 2008 9:33 pm

jbottero wrote:So when you say to get the plug-in to work, I have to install the full application, well it makes me wonder if there is an almost identical plug-in from a different author that works without installing a full application...
Well, sort of, but you might not have known that it includes a full application if you weren't aware of its 2MB file size.

Post Reply