Page 1 of 1

Tidy comments showing up listed as errors?

Posted: Tue Jun 21, 2005 2:56 am
by Bob
I noticed that a document I'd already tested with HTML Tidy from Firefox is now showing as having 3 "errors". Could that be from Tidy comments?

I'd copy and paste these 3 items, but there's no way to do that by just highlighting and right-clicking as usual as it is now in the Tidy Messages tab. Having that ability would sure be nice. Any way to add copy there?

Thanks!

Re: Tidy comments showing up listed as errors?

Posted: Tue Jun 21, 2005 6:17 am
by Albert Wiersch
Bob wrote:I noticed that a document I'd already tested with HTML Tidy from Firefox is now showing as having 3 "errors". Could that be from Tidy comments?

I'd copy and paste these 3 items, but there's no way to do that by just highlighting and right-clicking as usual as it is now in the Tidy Messages tab. Having that ability would sure be nice. Any way to add copy there?

Thanks!
Hi Bob,

CSE shouldn't count comments as errors. I'd have to see the items. You can copy and paste the contents of the Tidy Messages tab in the HTML Tidy Tool by selecting all the text then copying it - Ctrl+A then Ctrl+C.

Or maybe you are confusion the information about errors and warnings that is displayed in the side panel under Enable CSE Validator results in the HTML Tidy Tool. That is the number of errors and warnings that CSE found, not HTML Tidy. That lets you compare the output before and after processing it with HTML Tidy based on doing a validation by CSE.

Problem shows in HTML Tidy Tool tab (not in overall results)

Posted: Wed Jun 22, 2005 1:45 am
by Bob
Despite your Ctrl-A and Ctrl-C suggestion, I'm still having a problem with pasting the results shown. Not sure why this is... The HTML Tidy Firefox extension allows regular cut and paste which does come in handy. I will hope you can also add in that capability at some point in the near future.

Anyhow, here's a page you can test and (I suspect) see what I'm seeing...

Simply use the Open from the Web option with the below URL (no errors).

http://www.fish-prints.com/

Now, once that code is in the editor window, click the HTML Tidy Tool tab up at the top. When I do, I hear the error sound which cuts off as it goes into the success sound. Its says "Original: 0 errors, 0 warnings" and
"Tidy: 3 errors, 0 warnings".

At that point, when I go to Tidy Messages, it shows 3 lines (comments).

1 is the Doctype message, 2 says it appears to be 4.01 Transitional and 3 says "No warnings or errors were found." If that's so (and it is), why does it show 3 errors over on the right?

Another thing...

Is the Options: (Profile: Default) checkbox set to be checked by default?

What about Enable CSE Validator results checkbox?

Maybe not, but I thought that the former was checked and latter wasn't. I have now switched those around (Tidy options Off and Enable CSE is On).

Your settings may need to be like that as well to see what I'm seeing now.

In general, having Tidy built in is just GREAT! I can already tell it will get me to add summary attributes to my table tags to eliminate Tidy warnings.

Unlike CSE, the Tidy error/warning messages can be hard to understand sometimes. By themselves, Tidy's messages can leave HTML beginners totally clueless. But, as I suspected, having CSE to better explain all the same things Tidy complains about makes it much more powerful than just Tidy all by itself. For those who really want plenty of tough testing, v7.0 is AWESOME! It may take some time for me to fully adjust to this new and powerful combination. But, in the end, I know it will help me a LOT!

Let me know what you find from my test... I hope you'll see what I see.

Thanks!