Changes in TopStyle4

Post here if your topic is about TopStyle but doesn't fit in another TopStyle forum.

Moderator: TopStyle Support

Changes in TopStyle4

Postby ripple » Mon Nov 29, 2010 5:20 am

Let me start by saying that I love TopStyle...have used the Pro version ever since I got a taste of free version that came with the old Macromedia Dreamweaver.

As with each upgrade, 4 offers a lot of really handy new features - far too many to list - THANKS!

...BUT...
Going from 3 to 4 - I feel like I lost a LOT of control over:
    what font I want to use in the editor
    dragging-and-dropping a chunk of code
    double-selecting and cutting a line - only grabs the text, not the line return, which makes pasting a little more fiddly (since I cannot drag-and-drop)

Am I missing a setting option somewhere??
ripple
 

Re: Changes in TopStyle4

Postby ripple » Fri Dec 10, 2010 9:03 am

OK, I've been working with v4 for a while now, and I am at my wits end! VERY lucky this was not the first version of this program I tried or I would run away fast, never to look back! What was once so easy is now SO frustrating in so many tiny little ways.

I refer to the following posts:
Interface Font size? - viewtopic.php?f=15&t=711
drag the text in TS 4 - viewtopic.php?f=15&t=631
Missing things in TS4 - viewtopic.php?f=15&t=659

All with similar issues as mine - missing something that was there before and is now gone??!! And why?? We depended on some of the things such as dragging and dropping code (which I personally think your answer of "There is always Ctrl+X and Ctrl+V" is more than flippant. There is also Ctrl+C, but none replace the usability of drag-and-drop).

And your overall answer is that you plan to release version 10 this year. Well that sounds just dandy - I paid for an upgrade to a product I have depended on for years, only to find out that a majority of the things I depended on are now completely gone...and not only do I have to WAIT to get them back, I will likely have to pay for another upgrade just to get what you took away. Not happy, not happy at all...

I have to ask...were you wanting to KEEP customers when you made these decisions???
ripple
 

Re: Changes in TopStyle4

Postby TopStyle Support » Mon Dec 13, 2010 4:25 am

ripple wrote:missing something that was there before and is now gone??!! And why??


The only thing that is really "gone" is drag-n-drop editing, and we're planning on re-introducing this feature soon.
User avatar
TopStyle Support
Rank VI - Professional
Rank VI - Professional
 
Posts: 499
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 12:38 pm

Re: Changes in TopStyle4

Postby ripple » Sun Dec 26, 2010 11:39 am

If nothing else is gone, then I'll repeat the original question:
Am I missing a setting option somewhere??


Could you please tell us how to do the following:

1) Change the Editor font

2) Grab the line return when selecting a line. (As it is, a line return must be entered before pasting...and like most people coding, we're moving pretty fast sometimes, and Ctrl-C / place cursor / Enter / Crtl-V gets pretty laborious.)
ripple
 

Re: Changes in TopStyle4

Postby TopStyle Support » Tue Dec 28, 2010 7:35 am

ripple wrote:Change the Editor font


You can change the editor font here: Options (F8) > Editor > Font

TopStyle 4 supports dozens of fixed-pitch fonts, including
* Monaco: http://www.gringod.com/2006/02/24/return-of-monacottf
* Bitstream Vera Sans Mono: http://www.dafont.com/bitstream-vera-mono.font
* Consolas

I'm sure there is at least one fixed-pitch font that you'll like.
User avatar
TopStyle Support
Rank VI - Professional
Rank VI - Professional
 
Posts: 499
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 12:38 pm

Re: Changes in TopStyle4

Postby gwmbox » Sat Jan 08, 2011 9:26 am

Any progress on drag and drop yet?

GW
 Old Homesite fan using Topstyle but still missing some of the features of Homesite
 Topstyle needs drag and drop
Get your Topstyle banners here
gwmbox
Rank 0 - Newcomer
Rank 0 - Newcomer
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2009 11:22 am

Re: Changes in TopStyle4

Postby gwmbox » Thu Jan 20, 2011 7:25 am

My eyes are getting tired and I was wondering of there was a way to increase the font size of the file explorer, inspector and other working windows?

If not then maybe something to consider for a future edition?

Cheers

GW
 Old Homesite fan using Topstyle but still missing some of the features of Homesite
 Topstyle needs drag and drop
Get your Topstyle banners here
gwmbox
Rank 0 - Newcomer
Rank 0 - Newcomer
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2009 11:22 am

Re: Changes in TopStyle4

Postby TopStyle Support » Fri Jan 21, 2011 8:06 am

gwmbox wrote:My eyes are getting tired and I was wondering of there was a way to increase the font size of the file explorer, inspector and other working windows?


Your Windows display settings are in control of the font size.
User avatar
TopStyle Support
Rank VI - Professional
Rank VI - Professional
 
Posts: 499
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 12:38 pm


Return to General TopStyle

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest