Changes in TopStyle4

Post anything about TopStyle here. NOTE: TopStyle has been discontinued.

Moderator: TopStyle Support

Post Reply
ripple

Changes in TopStyle4

Post by ripple » Mon Nov 29, 2010 4:20 am

Let me start by saying that I love TopStyle...have used the Pro version ever since I got a taste of free version that came with the old Macromedia Dreamweaver.

As with each upgrade, 4 offers a lot of really handy new features - far too many to list - THANKS!

...BUT...
Going from 3 to 4 - I feel like I lost a LOT of control over:
  • what font I want to use in the editor
  • dragging-and-dropping a chunk of code
  • double-selecting and cutting a line - only grabs the text, not the line return, which makes pasting a little more fiddly (since I cannot drag-and-drop)
Am I missing a setting option somewhere??

ripple

Re: Changes in TopStyle4

Post by ripple » Fri Dec 10, 2010 8:03 am

OK, I've been working with v4 for a while now, and I am at my wits end! VERY lucky this was not the first version of this program I tried or I would run away fast, never to look back! What was once so easy is now SO frustrating in so many tiny little ways.

I refer to the following posts:
Interface Font size? - http://www.htmlvalidator.com/CSEForum/v ... f=15&t=711
drag the text in TS 4 - http://www.htmlvalidator.com/CSEForum/v ... f=15&t=631
Missing things in TS4 - http://www.htmlvalidator.com/CSEForum/v ... f=15&t=659

All with similar issues as mine - missing something that was there before and is now gone??!! And why?? We depended on some of the things such as dragging and dropping code (which I personally think your answer of "There is always Ctrl+X and Ctrl+V" is more than flippant. There is also Ctrl+C, but none replace the usability of drag-and-drop).

And your overall answer is that you plan to release version 10 this year. Well that sounds just dandy - I paid for an upgrade to a product I have depended on for years, only to find out that a majority of the things I depended on are now completely gone...and not only do I have to WAIT to get them back, I will likely have to pay for another upgrade just to get what you took away. Not happy, not happy at all...

I have to ask...were you wanting to KEEP customers when you made these decisions???

User avatar
TopStyle Support
Rank VI - Professional
Rank VI - Professional
Posts: 507
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 12:38 pm
Contact:

Re: Changes in TopStyle4

Post by TopStyle Support » Mon Dec 13, 2010 3:25 am

ripple wrote:missing something that was there before and is now gone??!! And why??
The only thing that is really "gone" is drag-n-drop editing, and we're planning on re-introducing this feature soon.

ripple

Re: Changes in TopStyle4

Post by ripple » Sun Dec 26, 2010 10:39 am

If nothing else is gone, then I'll repeat the original question:
Am I missing a setting option somewhere??
Could you please tell us how to do the following:

1) Change the Editor font

2) Grab the line return when selecting a line. (As it is, a line return must be entered before pasting...and like most people coding, we're moving pretty fast sometimes, and Ctrl-C / place cursor / Enter / Crtl-V gets pretty laborious.)

User avatar
TopStyle Support
Rank VI - Professional
Rank VI - Professional
Posts: 507
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 12:38 pm
Contact:

Re: Changes in TopStyle4

Post by TopStyle Support » Tue Dec 28, 2010 6:35 am

ripple wrote:Change the Editor font
You can change the editor font here: Options (F8) > Editor > Font

TopStyle 4 supports dozens of fixed-pitch fonts, including
* Monaco: http://www.gringod.com/2006/02/24/return-of-monacottf
* Bitstream Vera Sans Mono: http://www.dafont.com/bitstream-vera-mono.font
* Consolas

I'm sure there is at least one fixed-pitch font that you'll like.

gwmbox
Rank II - Novice
Rank II - Novice
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2009 11:22 am

Re: Changes in TopStyle4

Post by gwmbox » Sat Jan 08, 2011 8:26 am

Any progress on drag and drop yet?

GW
 Old Homesite fan using Topstyle 5 - was happy, but now Topstyle is abandoned :(
Get your Topstyle banners here

gwmbox
Rank II - Novice
Rank II - Novice
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2009 11:22 am

Re: Changes in TopStyle4

Post by gwmbox » Thu Jan 20, 2011 6:25 am

My eyes are getting tired and I was wondering of there was a way to increase the font size of the file explorer, inspector and other working windows?

If not then maybe something to consider for a future edition?

Cheers

GW
 Old Homesite fan using Topstyle 5 - was happy, but now Topstyle is abandoned :(
Get your Topstyle banners here

User avatar
TopStyle Support
Rank VI - Professional
Rank VI - Professional
Posts: 507
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 12:38 pm
Contact:

Re: Changes in TopStyle4

Post by TopStyle Support » Fri Jan 21, 2011 7:06 am

gwmbox wrote:My eyes are getting tired and I was wondering of there was a way to increase the font size of the file explorer, inspector and other working windows?
Your Windows display settings are in control of the font size.

Post Reply