Considering Purchase of TopStyle

Post anything about TopStyle here. NOTE: TopStyle has been discontinued.

Moderator: TopStyle Support

Post Reply
craftsrus
Rank 0 - Newcomer
Rank 0 - Newcomer
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon May 14, 2012 3:50 pm

Considering Purchase of TopStyle

Post by craftsrus » Mon May 14, 2012 3:54 pm

I have just downloaded a trial version of the program but find that the lack of functionality is not allowing me to evaluate it for my purposes. I have an older hand coded HTML website in existance that I want to update to CSS. I have not learned CSS as yet and was trying to take an easy way out of the dilemma. So the question is, will TopStyle convert this older style website into CSS?

User avatar
TopStyle Support
Rank VI - Professional
Rank VI - Professional
Posts: 507
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 12:38 pm
Contact:

Re: Considering Purchase of TopStyle

Post by TopStyle Support » Tue May 15, 2012 2:10 am

Hi craftsrus,

TopStyle includes a feature that will replace HTML markup with CSS:

HTML > Style Upgrade

In essence, this feature will convert to CSS any HTML markup that has been deprecated (outdated) in favor of CSS. However, this feature cannot and will not convert all of your HTML to CSS because these technologies are complementary (CSS does not replace HTML).

craftsrus
Rank 0 - Newcomer
Rank 0 - Newcomer
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon May 14, 2012 3:50 pm

Re: Considering Purchase of TopStyle

Post by craftsrus » Tue May 15, 2012 2:32 pm

It seems that this will do exactly what I would like. I realize that HTML and CSS are complementary technologies, but will TopStyle make adjustments to any old HTML code that is incorrect or out of date? Also I would like to change a couple of design flaws that I originally made with the site. There is a banner design at the top of the site that was configured by pixel dimensions, the way it shows now on a larger screen monitor is about 3/4 of the screen. I think it would be better to make the dimension a percentage value, but in the experimental stages with TopStyle in the trial mode I didn't see any changes in this when I entered a percentage value in the HTML code - did I miss something? BTW, the site is http://www.175thmavericks.com

User avatar
TopStyle Support
Rank VI - Professional
Rank VI - Professional
Posts: 507
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 12:38 pm
Contact:

Re: Considering Purchase of TopStyle

Post by TopStyle Support » Wed May 16, 2012 1:20 am

craftsrus wrote:will TopStyle make adjustments to any old HTML code that is incorrect or out of date?
HTML > Style Upgrade will convert/correct some of your outdated HTML code, but for a thorough analysis you should run a HTML validator on your HTML code. TopStyle integrates with the W3C validator and the CSE validator.
craftsrus wrote:Also I would like to change a couple of design flaws that I originally made with the site. There is a banner design at the top of the site that was configured by pixel dimensions, the way it shows now on a larger screen monitor is about 3/4 of the screen. I think it would be better to make the dimension a percentage value, but in the experimental stages with TopStyle in the trial mode I didn't see any changes in this when I entered a percentage value in the HTML code - did I miss something?
Did you refresh the preview? (F5). If you didn't see any changes, then there is probably a problem with the HTML code itself.

craftsrus
Rank 0 - Newcomer
Rank 0 - Newcomer
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon May 14, 2012 3:50 pm

Re: Considering Purchase of TopStyle

Post by craftsrus » Wed May 16, 2012 11:08 am

These may seem like obvious things, but I built this website in 2003 and I haven't done any further work in website design. I did refresh within the TopStyle program but the page remains the same. I am looking at the page on a wide screen monitor and the banner across the top of the page is slightly more than half the width of the monitor. I changed the code to show 80% for the banner and 20% for the logo in the top left corner, but that didn't make the adjustment that I wanted to see. I would like to retool the site so that it spreads across whatever the size of the viewer's monitor might be, as well as being useful on iPads and smartphones. This is another feature that I am hoping I will be able to accomplish with the software. Do you have suggestions?

User avatar
TopStyle Support
Rank VI - Professional
Rank VI - Professional
Posts: 507
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 12:38 pm
Contact:

Re: Considering Purchase of TopStyle

Post by TopStyle Support » Thu May 17, 2012 4:12 am

craftsrus wrote:I am looking at the page on a wide screen monitor and the banner across the top of the page is slightly more than half the width of the monitor. I changed the code to show 80% for the banner and 20% for the logo in the top left corner, but that didn't make the adjustment that I wanted to see. I would like to retool the site so that it spreads across whatever the size of the viewer's monitor might be
Maybe you can post a snippet of your HTML code here? I'm not the HTML expert myself, but there are plenty of HTML experts in this forum (or other forums).
craftsrus wrote:as well as being useful on iPads and smartphones.
For this, TopStyle includes and integrates with the iWebKit framework.

craftsrus
Rank 0 - Newcomer
Rank 0 - Newcomer
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon May 14, 2012 3:50 pm

Re: Considering Purchase of TopStyle

Post by craftsrus » Thu May 17, 2012 9:14 am

Great suggestion, a look at the actual website may also be helpful www.175thmavericks.com. The following is the portion that I would like to adjust from the pixel dimension to allow for the banner to be viewed across the full width of the top of the webpage in whatever browser or screen size the viewer may have:

<META HTTP-EQUIV="Content-Type" CONTENT="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1" />
</HEAD>
<BODY BGCOLOR="#D1FAFC" LEFTMARGIN="0" TOPMARGIN="0" MARGINWIDTH="0" MARGINHEIGHT="0">
<!-- ImageReady Slices (newmaverickssitetemplate_032503.psd) -->
<TABLE WIDTH="800" BORDER="0" CELLPADDING="0" CELLSPACING="0">
<TR>
<TD>
<IMG SRC="images/logoanimation_041003.gif" ALT="Mavericks Logo" width="145" height="153" /></TD>
<TD COLSPAN="3" ROWSPAN="2">
<IMG SRC="images/header.jpg" ALT="Home of the 175th Mavericks" width="655" height="155" /></TD>
<TD>
<IMG SRC="images/spacer.gif" WIDTH="1" HEIGHT="153" ALT="" /></TD>
</TR>

User avatar
TopStyle Support
Rank VI - Professional
Rank VI - Professional
Posts: 507
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 12:38 pm
Contact:

Re: Considering Purchase of TopStyle

Post by TopStyle Support » Mon May 21, 2012 2:04 am

You can try and set the WIDTH of the TABLE to 100%, and then adjust the cells accordingly.

craftsrus
Rank 0 - Newcomer
Rank 0 - Newcomer
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon May 14, 2012 3:50 pm

Re: Considering Purchase of TopStyle

Post by craftsrus » Mon May 21, 2012 2:03 pm

I tried adjusting the width of both the logo and the banner but nothing changed. I am wondering whether this is an issue thta I will need to go back into Photoshop to change. Perhaps the size issue is being governed by the jpg when I created it?

Post Reply