box-shadow ?

Post anything about TopStyle here. NOTE: TopStyle has been discontinued.

Moderator: TopStyle Support

Post Reply
JoeB
Rank II - Novice
Rank II - Novice
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2012 4:14 pm

box-shadow ?

Post by JoeB » Wed Nov 21, 2012 6:07 pm

Hi-

I'm new to top style, and to CSS ! So I have a few questions/comments/observations that I hope someone could comment on please?


In Css3, 'box-shadow' should take at least 2 params, but topstyle only allows 1 to be entered when using the style inspector drop menus. There is no + symbol to show all the values that are possible like there is for 'border-bottom' for example.
http://www.w3schools.com/cssref/css3_pr_box-shadow.asp

User avatar
TopStyle Support
Rank VI - Professional
Rank VI - Professional
Posts: 507
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 12:38 pm
Contact:

Re: box-shadow ?

Post by TopStyle Support » Thu Nov 22, 2012 2:32 am

Have you tried Style Insight? (Ctrl+Space). For some properties (including box-shadow) Style Insight is better than Style Inspector.

JoeB
Rank II - Novice
Rank II - Novice
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2012 4:14 pm

Re: box-shadow ?

Post by JoeB » Thu Nov 22, 2012 1:09 pm

Style insight shows exactly the same as the style inspector. Can box-shadow be fully added? I use this quite a bit !

User avatar
TopStyle Support
Rank VI - Professional
Rank VI - Professional
Posts: 507
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 12:38 pm
Contact:

Re: box-shadow ?

Post by TopStyle Support » Fri Nov 23, 2012 1:57 am

Style Insight should list all possible values (for all params)

JoeB
Rank II - Novice
Rank II - Novice
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2012 4:14 pm

Re: box-shadow ?

Post by JoeB » Fri Nov 23, 2012 3:25 am

Hi- insight isn't listing them for box-shadow. Can you raise this as a bug please?

User avatar
TopStyle Support
Rank VI - Professional
Rank VI - Professional
Posts: 507
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 12:38 pm
Contact:

Re: box-shadow ?

Post by TopStyle Support » Fri Nov 30, 2012 5:38 am

Insight/Inspector is listing:
* the "Length" property editor for the following arguments: h-shadow, v-shadow, blur
* the "Choose Color" property editor, standard colors, and named colors for the color of the shadow
* the optional argument named "inset"

As far as I can tell, these are all the arguments. I have tried this example, and Style Check (F6) is not reporting any problems for CSS3:

Code: Select all

a {
	box-shadow: 10px 10px 5px #888888;
}
This makes me believe TopStyle 5 is supporting all the arguments. Please let me know if I'm missing anything. Thanks!

JoeB
Rank II - Novice
Rank II - Novice
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2012 4:14 pm

Re: box-shadow ?

Post by JoeB » Fri Nov 30, 2012 5:45 am

Ah yes, I was trying to explain that the Length property is not separated into its arguments (h-shadow, v-shadow, blur) like has been done for others in the inspector by means of sub-tree items.

User avatar
TopStyle Support
Rank VI - Professional
Rank VI - Professional
Posts: 507
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 12:38 pm
Contact:

Re: box-shadow ?

Post by TopStyle Support » Fri Nov 30, 2012 7:34 am

Shorthand properties (such as background and border) have child items in the Inspector (and groups in Insight). box-shadow is not a shorthand property.

JoeB
Rank II - Novice
Rank II - Novice
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2012 4:14 pm

Re: box-shadow ?

Post by JoeB » Fri Nov 30, 2012 7:43 am

It would be useful to add this to properties that are not shorthand, then i wouldnt need to lookup the arguments from google each time i need to use them.

User avatar
Albert Wiersch
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3359
Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2004 9:23 am
Location: Near Dallas, TX
Contact:

Re: box-shadow ?

Post by Albert Wiersch » Fri Nov 30, 2012 11:06 am

JoeB wrote:It would be useful to add this to properties that are not shorthand, then i wouldnt need to lookup the arguments from google each time i need to use them.
Please try hitting 'F1' on a start tag or CSS property to bring up a help page.
Image
Albert Wiersch

User avatar
TopStyle Support
Rank VI - Professional
Rank VI - Professional
Posts: 507
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 12:38 pm
Contact:

Re: box-shadow ?

Post by TopStyle Support » Sat Dec 01, 2012 2:25 am

Albert Wiersch wrote:Please try hitting 'F1' on a start tag or CSS property to bring up a help page.
...or Ctrl+Click

nathanmannar
Rank 0 - Newcomer
Rank 0 - Newcomer
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2014 4:46 am

Re: box-shadow ?

Post by nathanmannar » Fri Sep 05, 2014 4:48 am

Try this one for moe about...CSS Box shadow

Nathan

Post Reply