Editor text hard to read

Post anything about TopStyle here. NOTE: TopStyle has been discontinued.

Moderator: TopStyle Support

esm
Rank I - Novice
Rank I - Novice
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2015 12:37 pm

Editor text hard to read

Post by esm » Tue May 05, 2015 4:15 pm

Hi,

Is there any setting to increase the contrast of the editor text?

I can change the colors, etc. but the entire text looks like it's kind of grayed out, hard to read.

Thanks,

Ed

gwmbox
Rank II - Novice
Rank II - Novice
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2009 11:22 am

Re: Editor text hard to read

Post by gwmbox » Tue May 19, 2015 3:29 am

There are many settings in the Options of Topstyle under the Editor - Color Coding where you can change the text colours to suit your needs. I have a specific set of colours I like for css, html, js and php plus I have also (with my poor eyesight, increased the overall font size.

You can change both text and background colours, this really is a user setting you need to just play with ;)

You can also change the font, I use Bitstream Vera Sans Mono - you can download it here http://www.dafont.com/bitstream-vera-mono.font
 Old Homesite fan using Topstyle 5 - was happy, but now Topstyle is abandoned :(
Get your Topstyle banners here

esm
Rank I - Novice
Rank I - Novice
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2015 12:37 pm

Re: Editor text hard to read

Post by esm » Thu May 21, 2015 12:41 pm

I have changed colors, fonts, etc. All that works fine.

However, the overall text is almost grayed-out, no contrast, very hard to read.

It's a pity for this fine piece of software.

Ed

gwmbox
Rank II - Novice
Rank II - Novice
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2009 11:22 am

Re: Editor text hard to read

Post by gwmbox » Thu Jun 04, 2015 11:25 pm

Overall text? Can you do a screen grab and post here so I can see what you mean? I have one of the issues you describe.
 Old Homesite fan using Topstyle 5 - was happy, but now Topstyle is abandoned :(
Get your Topstyle banners here

esm
Rank I - Novice
Rank I - Novice
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2015 12:37 pm

Re: Editor text hard to read

Post by esm » Fri Jun 05, 2015 10:09 am

Here's a screen shot.
Attachments
sample.gif
sample.gif (44.87 KiB) Viewed 4204 times

gwmbox
Rank II - Novice
Rank II - Novice
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2009 11:22 am

Re: Editor text hard to read

Post by gwmbox » Sun Jun 14, 2015 6:21 pm

Sorry for the delay in replying, I don't visit these forums often enough, I will subscribe to the thread to get a message about your replies :)

That is certainly not normal

Can I suggest you go to Options > Options > Editor > Color Coding

Then select the Reset to Default Color Coding

It should look something like;

Image

If that still fails get back to me (us) and we can try and sort it out with other suggestions.
 Old Homesite fan using Topstyle 5 - was happy, but now Topstyle is abandoned :(
Get your Topstyle banners here

esm
Rank I - Novice
Rank I - Novice
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2015 12:37 pm

Re: Editor text hard to read

Post by esm » Sun Jun 14, 2015 9:48 pm

I did as you suggested but, alas, it did not change one bit.

If I 'd see the edit text as you see it, I'd be more than happy.

Like you, Old Homesite fan using Topstyle 5, not really happy.

Thanks for all the help.

Ed

gwmbox
Rank II - Novice
Rank II - Novice
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2009 11:22 am

Re: Editor text hard to read

Post by gwmbox » Sun Jun 14, 2015 11:40 pm

OK how about trying my settings and see if that sorts it out.

See the attached, unzip and copy it to your

USER\AppData\Roaming\Bradsoft.com\TopStyle\5.0\schemes folder

Let me know if this helps at all.
Attachments
color.zip
(3.81 KiB) Downloaded 110 times
 Old Homesite fan using Topstyle 5 - was happy, but now Topstyle is abandoned :(
Get your Topstyle banners here

esm
Rank I - Novice
Rank I - Novice
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2015 12:37 pm

Re: Editor text hard to read

Post by esm » Mon Jun 15, 2015 10:02 am

It worked!!!

A whole lot better, thanks a lot.

While I'm at it, is there any way to place an "Undo" button somewhere on a tool bar?

Sometimes I go 10 steps forward to check if a certain design thingy looks good and then, when I don't like it, I have to go back to "Edit" --> "Undo" ten times, which is very annoying.

Thanks again,

Ed

gwmbox
Rank II - Novice
Rank II - Novice
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2009 11:22 am

Re: Editor text hard to read

Post by gwmbox » Mon Jun 15, 2015 6:07 pm

Excellent news :)

To add the undo and redo buttons you need to ensure that the Site tool bar is active and then the items you want to display are shown
topstyle-tool-bar-buttons.png
topstyle-tool-bar-buttons.png (71.54 KiB) Viewed 4044 times
Cheers
Last edited by gwmbox on Mon Jun 15, 2015 9:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.
 Old Homesite fan using Topstyle 5 - was happy, but now Topstyle is abandoned :(
Get your Topstyle banners here

esm
Rank I - Novice
Rank I - Novice
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2015 12:37 pm

Re: Editor text hard to read

Post by esm » Mon Jun 15, 2015 7:30 pm

The Site item is selected but, for the life of me, I can't locate that site tool bar.

Maybe I had one beer to many.

Ed

gwmbox
Rank II - Novice
Rank II - Novice
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2009 11:22 am

Re: Editor text hard to read

Post by gwmbox » Mon Jun 15, 2015 9:44 pm

Turn them all off and then re-select the Site toolbar and see if it shows up and then add specific buttons ;)
 Old Homesite fan using Topstyle 5 - was happy, but now Topstyle is abandoned :(
Get your Topstyle banners here

esm
Rank I - Novice
Rank I - Novice
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2015 12:37 pm

Re: Editor text hard to read

Post by esm » Tue Jun 16, 2015 10:02 am

Sorry, I may be a bit dense.

I just can't find it.

Never mind.

Thanks anyway.

ED

esm
Rank I - Novice
Rank I - Novice
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2015 12:37 pm

Re: Editor text hard to read

Post by esm » Tue Jun 16, 2015 11:32 am

Finally figured it out.

It's the edit toolbar.

Thanks,

Ed

gwmbox
Rank II - Novice
Rank II - Novice
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2009 11:22 am

Re: Editor text hard to read

Post by gwmbox » Tue Jun 16, 2015 6:33 pm

hmm mine is the Site one, but the Edit one makes more sense, maybe I modified it quite a while ago :)
 Old Homesite fan using Topstyle 5 - was happy, but now Topstyle is abandoned :(
Get your Topstyle banners here

Post Reply