HomeSite integration

Post anything about TopStyle here. NOTE: TopStyle has been discontinued.

Moderator: TopStyle Support

Post Reply
activeweb
Rank 0 - Newcomer
Rank 0 - Newcomer
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2009 10:52 pm

HomeSite integration

Post by activeweb » Tue Jun 16, 2009 11:33 pm

TopStyle 3.5 integrated with my favourite HTML editor HomeSite. Please continue this feature in TopStyle 4. There seems to be no provision for that - please correct me if I'm wrong.

User avatar
TopStyle Support
Rank VI - Professional
Rank VI - Professional
Posts: 507
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 12:38 pm
Contact:

Re: HomeSite integration

Post by TopStyle Support » Wed Jun 17, 2009 3:59 pm

HomeSite integration has been deprecated.

Because HomeSite integration was based upon TopStyle Lite, and because there is no TopStyle 4 Lite, consequently there is no HomeSite integration with TopStyle 4.

activeweb
Rank 0 - Newcomer
Rank 0 - Newcomer
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2009 10:52 pm

Re: HomeSite integration

Post by activeweb » Thu Jun 18, 2009 11:38 pm

Hi Stephan,

Thanks for your reply. However, I'd like to know what your credentials are: are you a software developer working on TopStyle or are you part of the company.

If what you state is correct, I would be most dissappointed to have spent $30 and have one of the important features of the software (for me, anyway) removed without warning. There must be at least a workaround to this and I would like to find out.

If anyone from the company is monitoring this board, please respond.

Thanks

User avatar
TopStyle Support
Rank VI - Professional
Rank VI - Professional
Posts: 507
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 12:38 pm
Contact:

Re: HomeSite integration

Post by TopStyle Support » Fri Jun 19, 2009 7:33 am

My credentials? I'm the new owner/author of the product.

HomeSite integration has been deprecated because
1. TopStyle itself does (X)HTML editing too
2. HomeSite has been discontinued by Adobe (http://www.adobe.com/products/homesite)
3. HomeSite integration was built upon the TopStyle Lite version, and there is no TopStyle Lite version anymore.

Thanks, Stefan.

P.S. TopStyle 4 does integrate with Dreamweaver, the successor to HomeSite.

User avatar
MikeGale
Rank VI - Professional
Rank VI - Professional
Posts: 711
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2004 1:50 pm
Location: Tannhauser Gate

Re: HomeSite integration

Post by MikeGale » Sun Jun 21, 2009 5:08 am

Thanks Stefan for bringing that Adobe announcement to my attention.

Both Adobe and Macromedia have been derelict with Homesite.

I have always had respect for Homesite but thought Dreamweaver weak from it's earliest public betas.

The people whose hands this product fell into demonstrate the damage that morons can do.

One of the most annoying things was that Homesite had utf-8 support a long time ago and poor development at Macromedia partly broke that when an "upgrade" introduced some oddities.
Last edited by MikeGale on Tue Dec 29, 2009 2:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
TopStyle Support
Rank VI - Professional
Rank VI - Professional
Posts: 507
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 12:38 pm
Contact:

Re: HomeSite integration

Post by TopStyle Support » Mon Jun 22, 2009 7:42 am

I agree it is regrettable HomeSite is gone. However, we have to be realistic. There's an end to the lifecycle of every product out there, including HomeSite. By the way, HomeSite isn't the first ex-Macromedia product that has been discontinued by Adobe (did someone say "Authorware"?)

User avatar
MikeGale
Rank VI - Professional
Rank VI - Professional
Posts: 711
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2004 1:50 pm
Location: Tannhauser Gate

Re: HomeSite integration

Post by MikeGale » Mon Jun 22, 2009 3:21 pm

Or Font Chameleon!

caldia
Rank 0 - Newcomer
Rank 0 - Newcomer
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 11:30 pm

Re: HomeSite integration

Post by caldia » Tue Sep 29, 2009 12:44 am

I agree with the comments here. Have used Homesite and TopStyle for 8+ years and now discover that the two are incompatible.

There is still no better on the fly editor than HS and the lack of integration is a total bummer.

True---it just means opening the file separately - but still, BOO on TS for not including something so freaking simple.

I wonder how many of your paying clients are old Homesite users....I mean---we put you on the friggin map and you pooped on us with this one.

Bad form.

User avatar
TopStyle Support
Rank VI - Professional
Rank VI - Professional
Posts: 507
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 12:38 pm
Contact:

Re: HomeSite integration

Post by TopStyle Support » Mon Oct 05, 2009 3:40 pm

I did not poop on anyone. It was Adobe who deprecated HomeSite, not me.

It is not "freaking simple". As a matter of fact, HomeSite integration was consuming an extra amount of engineering efforts because we had to keep the Lite version in the air for this to happen, which basically means maintaining two applications.

Anyway, I believe I have said and explained everything there is to say and explain about this.

Thank you for your colorful language.

User avatar
MikeGale
Rank VI - Professional
Rank VI - Professional
Posts: 711
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2004 1:50 pm
Location: Tannhauser Gate

Re: HomeSite integration

Post by MikeGale » Mon Oct 05, 2009 6:45 pm

I'm not sure what some users are after here.

Topstyle can essentially do what Homesite did, and it was the Lite version that had integration. Do they want other users to subsidise development for the free version? (If you guys are not after a free ride, secure some capital to fund what you want then make an approach. Heck if you are serious how about trying to buy Homesite!)

A lot of people love Homesite. With a little work it would still be a significant force. Unfortunately it fell into hands that seemingly wanted to kill it. It's hard to let it go but chalk this one up to the evil guys.

Please don't make these attacks on Stefan and Topstyle. He is doing good.
Last edited by MikeGale on Tue Dec 29, 2009 2:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Clisair
Rank 0 - Newcomer
Rank 0 - Newcomer
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2007 11:13 am

Re: HomeSite integration

Post by Clisair » Tue Dec 29, 2009 12:31 pm

Ok, just need a bit of registry help, I know you do not do the tslite#.exe, but this is not about that, I can keep using my tslite3 for inline stuff, what I want to know is the regestry setting that I would need to change to make edit style sheet open in 4 instes of 3. If I have 4 already open, that command in Homesite 4.5 (yes a dino, but a well behaved and reliable dino) will open in 4 and not try and load 3.

So, if you could give us that one registry edit I believe that will take care of alot of peoples request for the integration of Homesite and Topstyle.

Dami
Rank 0 - Newcomer
Rank 0 - Newcomer
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Feb 10, 2010 2:00 pm

Re: HomeSite integration

Post by Dami » Wed Feb 10, 2010 3:24 pm

I have to agree with the other buyers. I wouldn't pay a plug nickel for Dreamweaver and had I known there was no HomeSite integration (which I've been using for about 12 years now), I wouldn't have purchased this upgrade. I think this is something you might want to put in your text somewhere. I'm pretty disappointed.

User avatar
TopStyle Support
Rank VI - Professional
Rank VI - Professional
Posts: 507
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 12:38 pm
Contact:

Re: HomeSite integration

Post by TopStyle Support » Sun Feb 21, 2010 4:14 am

Adobe has deprecated HomeSite. It is time to move on.

gwmbox
Rank II - Novice
Rank II - Novice
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2009 11:22 am

Re: HomeSite integration

Post by gwmbox » Sat Jan 08, 2011 8:24 am

While I agree that HomeSite has been abandoned and we must 'move on', what I think you are dismissing is the fact about how great of an editor that HomeSite was, and in many cases still is.

I am not sure if you have ever been able to get hold of a copy of HomeSite and test it for yourself, but if you have I am sure you could get a lot out of it that you could then add into Topstyle. If you have not had a look at HomeSite yet, do you want me to send you a full working copy? For testing purposes only of course :)

I guess one needs to ask why has HomeSite remained such a good editor even after it has been abandoned, and not just dismiss it.

Just my 2 cents worth on the matter :)

Cheers

GW
 Old Homesite fan using Topstyle 5 - was happy, but now Topstyle is abandoned :(
Get your Topstyle banners here

User avatar
TopStyle Support
Rank VI - Professional
Rank VI - Professional
Posts: 507
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 12:38 pm
Contact:

Re: HomeSite integration

Post by TopStyle Support » Fri Jan 14, 2011 9:48 am

gwmbox wrote:While I agree that HomeSite has been abandoned and we must 'move on', what I think you are dismissing is the fact about how great of an editor that HomeSite was
I'm not dismissing that fact. I believe HomeSite was great too. However, when TopStyle 4 was introduced I had to make a couple of decisions. One of them is: no more Lite version. And because HomeSite integration was based upon the Lite version, TopStyle 4 does not come with HomeSite integration.

Because TopStyle 4 is doing (X)HTML editing (and includes pretty much all of the HomeSite features now), my advice is to do your (X)HTML editing in TopStyle, or utilize the Dreamweaver integration.

Post Reply