Yet another spell check request

For topics about current BETA or future releases, including feature requests.
Post Reply
User avatar
roedygr
Rank V - Professional
Rank V - Professional
Posts: 370
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2006 5:22 am
Location: Victoria BC Canada
Contact:

Yet another spell check request

Post by roedygr » Tue Apr 10, 2012 4:02 am

I am working on a document that is half German and half English. As you can imagine, this drives the spell checker crazy.

It would be nice if <td align="top" lang="de-DE">

invoked a German language spell checker or failing that, turned off spellchecking.

User avatar
Albert Wiersch
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3222
Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2004 9:23 am
Location: Near Dallas, TX
Contact:

Re: Yet another spell check request

Post by Albert Wiersch » Tue Apr 10, 2012 8:51 am

I'll consider improving this for a future version, but if you use/select both English and German dictionaries at the same time, does it work well enough?
Image
Albert Wiersch

User avatar
roedygr
Rank V - Professional
Rank V - Professional
Posts: 370
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2006 5:22 am
Location: Victoria BC Canada
Contact:

spell check

Post by roedygr » Sun Mar 03, 2013 8:09 pm

I have been using Blue Griffon WYSIWYG html editor. One feature it has would be nice for HTML validator.

They look at the <html lang="en-CA" tag, and automatically select an appropriate spelling dictionary.

User avatar
Albert Wiersch
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3222
Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2004 9:23 am
Location: Near Dallas, TX
Contact:

Re: spell check

Post by Albert Wiersch » Mon Mar 04, 2013 9:14 am

Thank you. Use of the "lang" attribute to control the active dictionary has been on my mind for quite some time... I hope to finally get around to this in the next major release. I'm finishing up 12.01 now, for release later this month (March 2013).
Image
Albert Wiersch

User avatar
Albert Wiersch
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3222
Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2004 9:23 am
Location: Near Dallas, TX
Contact:

Re: Yet another spell check request

Post by Albert Wiersch » Mon Sep 23, 2013 5:05 pm

Hello,

I'm now working on this (support for changing dictionaries based on the "lang" and/or "xml:lang" attributes) and testing it for the next major release. If you'd like to test a BETA, then please contact me privately.

This new feature works with the validator engine, and thus the validator spelling message, but not in the editor like with 'Live Spelling'. However, you can select multiple dictionaries to support multiple languages simultaneously.

Thank you!
Image
Albert Wiersch

User avatar
RSteinwand
Rank VI - Professional
Rank VI - Professional
Posts: 551
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2008 2:12 pm
Location: Fargo, ND
Contact:

Re: Yet another spell check request

Post by RSteinwand » Wed Oct 09, 2013 8:09 am

Hi Albert,

How about ignoring words in scripts? (This is v.14b27.)

I've tried checking "Lines beginning with < ", but that doesn't work and also is unchecked when I open Spelling Options again.

For example, it wants to check 'px' and '.google-analytics.com/ga.js' (anything in quotes) below:

Code: Select all

<script type="text/javascript">
	var total,rand,t;
	function fixPromo(){var h1=document.getElementById('prom1'),h2=document.getElementById('prom2');if(h1.offsetTop==h2.offsetTop){try{document.getElementById('prom1').style.height=(h2.offsetHeight-5)+'px';}catch(i){}}else{document.getElementById('prom1').style.height='auto';}}
	function SavePrefs(){}
	function LoadPrefs(){
//		rndtestimonial(true);t=setInterval(function(){rndtestimonial(true);},10000);
		fixPromo();showfeatdiv();showtradeshows();Copyright();fixloginurl();fixlinkurl('golflink');fixlinkurl('econtractslink');
		var tO=null;window.onresize=function(){if(tO!==null){clearTimeout(tO);}tO=setTimeout(function(){fixPromo();},150);};
	}
	if(window.addEventListener){window.addEventListener("load",LoadPrefs,false);window.addEventListener("unload",SavePrefs,false);}else if(window.attachEvent){window.attachEvent("onload",LoadPrefs);window.attachEvent("onunload",SavePrefs);}else{window.onload=LoadPrefs;window.onunload=SavePrefs;}
	var _gaq=_gaq||[];_gaq.push(['_setAccount','UA-9376132-1']);_gaq.push(['_trackPageview']);(function(){var ga=document.createElement('script');ga.type='text/javascript';ga.async=true;ga.src=('https:'==document.location.protocol?'https://ssl':'http://www')+'.google-analytics.com/ga.js';var s=document.getElementsByTagName('script')[0];s.parentNode.insertBefore(ga,s);})();
</script>
</body>
Rick

User avatar
Albert Wiersch
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3222
Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2004 9:23 am
Location: Near Dallas, TX
Contact:

Re: Yet another spell check request

Post by Albert Wiersch » Wed Oct 09, 2013 8:27 am

Hi Rick,

Are you referring to the squiggly red underlines in the editor caused by Live Spelling?
Image
Albert Wiersch

User avatar
RSteinwand
Rank VI - Professional
Rank VI - Professional
Posts: 551
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2008 2:12 pm
Location: Fargo, ND
Contact:

Re: Yet another spell check request

Post by RSteinwand » Wed Oct 09, 2013 8:30 am

Nope, Tools.... Spell Check.
Rick

User avatar
RSteinwand
Rank VI - Professional
Rank VI - Professional
Posts: 551
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2008 2:12 pm
Location: Fargo, ND
Contact:

Re: Yet another spell check request

Post by RSteinwand » Wed Oct 09, 2013 8:34 am

I see it's the same engine for both tho. If I click on a squiggly red-underlined word, it brings up the same dialog.
Rick

User avatar
Albert Wiersch
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3222
Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2004 9:23 am
Location: Near Dallas, TX
Contact:

Re: Yet another spell check request

Post by Albert Wiersch » Wed Oct 09, 2013 9:09 am

RSteinwand wrote:I see it's the same engine for both tho. If I click on a squiggly red-underlined word, it brings up the same dialog.
Thanks Rick... I'm inquiring about this and if it is feasible then I will make it so that the spell checker does not try to spell-check words in script elements as well as in other scripting sections (and possibly an option to control this).
Image
Albert Wiersch

User avatar
RSteinwand
Rank VI - Professional
Rank VI - Professional
Posts: 551
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2008 2:12 pm
Location: Fargo, ND
Contact:

Re: Yet another spell check request

Post by RSteinwand » Wed Oct 09, 2013 9:31 am

Thanks.

I just noticed it in a commented out line of my inline style sheet as well.
Rick

User avatar
Albert Wiersch
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3222
Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2004 9:23 am
Location: Near Dallas, TX
Contact:

Re: Yet another spell check request

Post by Albert Wiersch » Thu Oct 10, 2013 4:56 pm

Thanks Rick. I heard back, and unfortunately this feature request may not be feasible.
Image
Albert Wiersch

User avatar
RSteinwand
Rank VI - Professional
Rank VI - Professional
Posts: 551
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2008 2:12 pm
Location: Fargo, ND
Contact:

Re: Yet another spell check request

Post by RSteinwand » Thu Oct 10, 2013 6:28 pm

I guess I lived without spell check for years so no big deal.

Thanks for checking. :D
Rick

User avatar
Albert Wiersch
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3222
Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2004 9:23 am
Location: Near Dallas, TX
Contact:

Re: Yet another spell check request

Post by Albert Wiersch » Thu Oct 10, 2013 6:48 pm

RSteinwand wrote:I guess I lived without spell check for years so no big deal.

Thanks for checking. :D
You're welcome. I have posted another question about it so am still researching but as of now I'm considering it "unfeasible". Should that change though, then I'll get it in. It is a good suggestion. :)
Image
Albert Wiersch

User avatar
RSteinwand
Rank VI - Professional
Rank VI - Professional
Posts: 551
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2008 2:12 pm
Location: Fargo, ND
Contact:

Re: Yet another spell check request

Post by RSteinwand » Fri Oct 11, 2013 6:58 am

"Requires a lot of work to change" <> "not feasible". :D

Thanks again.
Rick

Post Reply