Page 2 of 3

Re: Getting Ready for HTTP/2

Posted: Mon Oct 31, 2016 8:47 pm
by Albert Wiersch
Thanks for the updates Rick. Glad to hear that it's in the main source tree now but sorry to hear about the equipment cost for you to update.

I've asked by buddy to take a look at it and see if he wants to try it out... and will post back if we are able to get it going for htmlvalidator.com.

Re: Getting Ready for HTTP/2

Posted: Mon Oct 31, 2016 9:05 pm
by RSteinwand
We have 2 load balancers that have to decrypt SSL, remove headers and reencrypt and they're approaching EOL. That's the equipment that has to do HTTP/2, not the servers. Apparently my request for HTTP/2 limited us to high-end equipment.

There's a Google app that tells you if the site you're on is HTTP/2. I guess I don't have it on my tablet.

Re: Getting Ready for HTTP/2

Posted: Tue Nov 01, 2016 7:52 am
by RSteinwand
I found this Chrome extension good for detecting if HTTP/2 or SPDY was being used on a site: https://chrome.google.com/webstore/deta ... nfo-dialog

Re: Getting Ready for HTTP/2

Posted: Tue Nov 01, 2016 8:20 am
by Albert Wiersch
RSteinwand wrote:I found this Chrome extension good for detecting if HTTP/2 or SPDY was being used on a site: https://chrome.google.com/webstore/deta ... nfo-dialog
Thanks. I installed it and will keep an eye out on the indicator to see what servers are supporting these days.

Re: Getting Ready for HTTP/2

Posted: Tue Nov 01, 2016 10:06 am
by Albert Wiersch
RSteinwand wrote:From Wikipedia: As of Apache 2.4.17 all patches are included in the main Apache source tree, although the module itself was renamed mod_http2.[53]

Sounds like they're just making it easier for you to enable HTTP/2.
Looks like it is still experimental:
http://httpd.apache.org/docs/2.4/mod/mod_http2.html
Warning
This module is experimental. Its behaviors, directives, and defaults are subject to more change from release to release relative to other standard modules. Users are encouraged to consult the "CHANGES" file for potential updates.
I'll probably give it some more time... unless I get bored and want to start "messing" with it sooner. :D

Re: Getting Ready for HTTP/2

Posted: Tue Nov 01, 2016 12:15 pm
by RSteinwand
Boredom always wins in my situation. :?

Re: Getting Ready for HTTP/2

Posted: Tue Nov 01, 2016 1:23 pm
by Albert Wiersch
Well what do you know! My server friend/buddy looked into it already and it must have been an easy upgrade because he enabled it for my server. How's it working for you? The Chrome extension says HTTP/2 is active.

Re: Getting Ready for HTTP/2

Posted: Tue Nov 01, 2016 1:25 pm
by RSteinwand
Say's "ACTIVE!" here.

Nice buddy to have around. Does he work on cars? :P

Seat-of-the-pants meter says much faster too.

Have him turn on QUIC right away too.

Re: Getting Ready for HTTP/2

Posted: Tue Nov 01, 2016 2:09 pm
by Albert Wiersch
RSteinwand wrote:Say's "ACTIVE!" here.

Nice buddy to have around. Does he work on cars? :P
Funny you should ask! Yes, he did before he got into computers (but that was a long time ago). :lol:

He said it was easier to add than he thought and that he only had to add two lines to my Apache config file.
RSteinwand wrote:Seat-of-the-pants meter says much faster too.
Wow.... so you can tell (or feel) a difference? I'm not sure if I can but the server is right here so I already had lightening fast access to it.
RSteinwand wrote:Have him turn on QUIC right away too.
Is this even possible on Apache?

https://groups.google.com/a/chromium.or ... nOLssZex_4

Re: Getting Ready for HTTP/2

Posted: Tue Nov 01, 2016 2:13 pm
by RSteinwand
I was kidding when I mentioned QUIC, but thought it was worth a try.

Re: Getting Ready for HTTP/2

Posted: Tue Nov 01, 2016 2:15 pm
by Albert Wiersch
RSteinwand wrote:I was kidding when I mentioned QUIC, but thought it was worth a try.
OK.. thought you might be but wasn't sure. :D

Still need to upgrade to PHP 7 but the forum software isn't official compatible with it yet.

Re: Getting Ready for HTTP/2

Posted: Tue Nov 01, 2016 2:19 pm
by RSteinwand
Probably isn't officially compatible with HTTP/2 either. :P

Re: Getting Ready for HTTP/2

Posted: Tue Nov 01, 2016 2:22 pm
by RSteinwand
Home page fully loaded in 1.2 seconds: https://www.webpagetest.org/result/161101_PF_1K48/

Works for me.

Re: Getting Ready for HTTP/2

Posted: Tue Nov 01, 2016 2:37 pm
by MikeGale
As HTTP2 gets more real, there's another way to check for it. Browser independent. Run Wireshark.

Re: Getting Ready for HTTP/2

Posted: Tue Nov 01, 2016 2:39 pm
by Albert Wiersch
RSteinwand wrote:Home page fully loaded in 1.2 seconds: https://www.webpagetest.org/result/161101_PF_1K48/

Works for me.
Very nice. Looks like it's using IE 11 for the test.

This was helpful:
http://caniuse.com/#feat=http2

Looks like almost everything supports HTTP/2 now. It's interesting that IE11 only does in Windows 10 and over TLS (https) though. At least it does have some support... I would have guessed that IE wouldn't have support for HTTP/2.

I suppose I could make more use of CDN's, but I think my site is fairly streamlined without a bunch of bloat so it probably wouldn't make much of a difference.