Page 1 of 1

Forum 'Save' button

Posted: Thu Jun 18, 2009 5:31 pm
by MikeGale
I put another post here but fell prey to that Save button on the editor. Ended up destroying it.

Can that Save button be moved out of the way? Say to the far right so that it doesn't get inadvertently used. (I don't remember it from the last version of this software.)

Re: Google and Bing and poor HTML

Posted: Thu Jun 18, 2009 10:21 pm
by Albert Wiersch
MikeGale wrote:I put another post here but fell prey to that Save button on the editor. Ended up destroying it.

Can that Save button be moved out of the way? Say to the far right so that it doesn't get inadvertently used. (I don't remember it from the last version of this software.)
I didn't even notice that new feature. It looks like it saves your message in User Control Panel->Overview tab->Manage drafts. Have you looked there for it? Looks like you can bring it back by clicking the "Load draft" link or maybe even by replying and clicking the "Load" button.

Moving the "Load" and "Save" buttons away sounds like a good idea. I may do that if it becomes a bigger problem or if I find some extra time. :D

Re: Forum 'Save' button

Posted: Thu Jun 18, 2009 11:54 pm
by MikeGale
Yes I looked there.

The save has an "are you sure" message. I navigated back from there found a blank text box and no way to recover. (I just tried it again, hitting No (to the "are you sure" message) does in fact retrieve the text.)

Re: Forum 'Save' button

Posted: Fri Jun 19, 2009 12:16 am
by Albert Wiersch
MikeGale wrote:I navigated back from there found a blank text box and no way to recover. (I just tried it again, hitting No (to the "are you sure" message) does in fact retrieve the text.)
That's strange. I hit 'Save' and then navigated back and my text was still there. I'm using the latest version of Firefox.

Re: Forum 'Save' button

Posted: Fri Jun 19, 2009 1:04 am
by MikeGale
I've just retested in IE 8.

Nothing in the editing area when I got back.

So I also tested in Firefox, Chrome, Safari and Opera. In all of those it worked.

Very curious. I wonder if it's a setting somewhere?

Regardless, the button does seem out of place.

Re: Forum 'Save' button

Posted: Fri Jun 19, 2009 9:28 am
by Albert Wiersch
MikeGale wrote:Very curious. I wonder if it's a setting somewhere?
Yes, I wonder too. I think I've had IE annoying lose my form data before too when I navigated back to a page (security issue?). That's one of the reasons I use Firefox... that and the Adblock Plus add-on.
MikeGale wrote:Regardless, the button does seem out of place.
I agree it would be better if it were separated from the other buttons... but I dout you'll make the same mistake again. :D

Re: Forum 'Save' button

Posted: Sat Jun 20, 2009 7:46 pm
by MikeGale
I've tried to get some more detail on this.

I ran a Virtual Machine with the RTW (Release To Web) version of IE 8 installed on it. The VM runs as XP SP 3. That also had the problem.

(I gave IETester a shot. It's still Alpha software so I wasn't too surprised when it couldn't log in successfully (i.e testing was impossible). If this had run I would have seen how IE 5.5, 6 and 7 behave.)

Thanks for putting this in it's own thread where it belongs.