Adding protocols

For technical support for all editions of CSS HTML Validator. Includes bug reports.
Post Reply
User avatar
MikeGale
Rank VI - Professional
Rank VI - Professional
Posts: 711
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2004 1:50 pm
Location: Tannhauser Gate

Adding protocols

Post by MikeGale » Tue Apr 25, 2006 8:17 pm

I've noticed this before but never bothered with the warnings it generates.

I have pages, which are used for compiled help material. They contain a scheme/protocol not usually seen and not supported by CSE.

Example:
<a href="ms-help://MS.NETFrameworkSDKv1.1/

Is there a way to add protocols in setup?

(My search didn't find one.)

User avatar
Albert Wiersch
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3451
Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2004 9:23 am
Location: Near Dallas, TX
Contact:

Post by Albert Wiersch » Wed Apr 26, 2006 10:49 am

Hi Mike,

You can use the Configuration Editor to add protocols.

1. Goto Options->Configuration Editor->Programs tab.
2. Click the Functions radio button.
3. Add the protocol to the list in the AWCheckURI() function. Because this protocol requires a double slash after the colon, add it to this line:

Code: Select all

     if (matchNoCase($beforecolon, "http", "https", "ftp", "gopher", "nntp", "telnet", "wais", "view-source", "aol", "rtsp", "mms")>0) {
4. Save the config file. I recommend saving as a new filename to distinguish it from the default configuration file.
Image
Albert Wiersch

User avatar
MikeGale
Rank VI - Professional
Rank VI - Professional
Posts: 711
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2004 1:50 pm
Location: Tannhauser Gate

Post by MikeGale » Wed Apr 26, 2006 2:04 pm

Thanks Albert,

That does the job.

User avatar
Albert Wiersch
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3451
Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2004 9:23 am
Location: Near Dallas, TX
Contact:

Post by Albert Wiersch » Wed Apr 26, 2006 2:19 pm

MikeGale wrote:Thanks Albert,

That does the job.
You're welcome! I've added this to the v8.0 config file so ms-help:// will be recognized in the next major release.
Image
Albert Wiersch

User avatar
Albert Wiersch
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3451
Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2004 9:23 am
Location: Near Dallas, TX
Contact:

Post by Albert Wiersch » Wed Dec 12, 2007 10:31 am

Also, to support ircs:// for the IRCS (IRC-over-SSL) protocol change to:

Code: Select all

     if (matchNoCase($beforecolon, "http", "https", "ftp", "gopher", "nntp", "telnet", "wais", "view-source", "aol", "rtsp", "mms", "ms-help", "ircs")>0) {
Full instructions:

1. Goto Options->Configuration Editor->Programs tab.
2. Click the Functions radio button.
3. Add the protocol to the list in the AWCheckURI() function. Because this protocol requires a double slash after the colon, add it to this line:

Code: Select all

     if (matchNoCase($beforecolon, "http", "https", "ftp", "gopher", "nntp", "telnet", "wais", "view-source", "aol", "rtsp", "mms", "ms-help", "ircs")>0) {
4. Save the config file. I recommend saving as a new filename to distinguish it from the default configuration file.
Image
Albert Wiersch

Post Reply