Adding protocols

For technical support and bug reports for all editions of CSS HTML Validator, including htmlval for Linux and Mac.
Post Reply
User avatar
MikeGale
Rank VI - Professional
Posts: 726
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2004 1:50 pm
Location: Tannhauser Gate

Adding protocols

Post by MikeGale »

I've noticed this before but never bothered with the warnings it generates.

I have pages, which are used for compiled help material. They contain a scheme/protocol not usually seen and not supported by CSE.

Example:
<a href="ms-help://MS.NETFrameworkSDKv1.1/

Is there a way to add protocols in setup?

(My search didn't find one.)
User avatar
Albert Wiersch
Site Admin
Posts: 3785
Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2004 9:23 am
Location: Near Dallas, TX
Contact:

Post by Albert Wiersch »

Hi Mike,

You can use the Configuration Editor to add protocols.

1. Goto Options->Configuration Editor->Programs tab.
2. Click the Functions radio button.
3. Add the protocol to the list in the AWCheckURI() function. Because this protocol requires a double slash after the colon, add it to this line:

Code: Select all

     if (matchNoCase($beforecolon, "http", "https", "ftp", "gopher", "nntp", "telnet", "wais", "view-source", "aol", "rtsp", "mms")>0) {
4. Save the config file. I recommend saving as a new filename to distinguish it from the default configuration file.
Albert Wiersch, CSS HTML Validator Developer • Download CSS HTML Validator FREE Trial
User avatar
MikeGale
Rank VI - Professional
Posts: 726
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2004 1:50 pm
Location: Tannhauser Gate

Post by MikeGale »

Thanks Albert,

That does the job.
User avatar
Albert Wiersch
Site Admin
Posts: 3785
Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2004 9:23 am
Location: Near Dallas, TX
Contact:

Post by Albert Wiersch »

MikeGale wrote:Thanks Albert,

That does the job.
You're welcome! I've added this to the v8.0 config file so ms-help:// will be recognized in the next major release.
Albert Wiersch, CSS HTML Validator Developer • Download CSS HTML Validator FREE Trial
User avatar
Albert Wiersch
Site Admin
Posts: 3785
Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2004 9:23 am
Location: Near Dallas, TX
Contact:

Post by Albert Wiersch »

Also, to support ircs:// for the IRCS (IRC-over-SSL) protocol change to:

Code: Select all

     if (matchNoCase($beforecolon, "http", "https", "ftp", "gopher", "nntp", "telnet", "wais", "view-source", "aol", "rtsp", "mms", "ms-help", "ircs")>0) {
Full instructions:

1. Goto Options->Configuration Editor->Programs tab.
2. Click the Functions radio button.
3. Add the protocol to the list in the AWCheckURI() function. Because this protocol requires a double slash after the colon, add it to this line:

Code: Select all

     if (matchNoCase($beforecolon, "http", "https", "ftp", "gopher", "nntp", "telnet", "wais", "view-source", "aol", "rtsp", "mms", "ms-help", "ircs")>0) {
4. Save the config file. I recommend saving as a new filename to distinguish it from the default configuration file.
Albert Wiersch, CSS HTML Validator Developer • Download CSS HTML Validator FREE Trial
Post Reply