Bug in max. error count

For technical support for all editions of CSS HTML Validator. Includes bug reports.
Post Reply
Tim Green
Rank 0 - Newcomer
Rank 0 - Newcomer
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon May 30, 2005 2:04 am
Location: Bruehl, Germany
Contact:

Bug in max. error count

Post by Tim Green » Mon May 30, 2005 2:09 am

I'm just getting started with CSE Pro 6.53. Looks like a very powerful and useful program. Unfortunately there seems to be a bug in the Max. Error Count function:

Even if I correct all the errors flagged in the list the program refuses to display messages for any more errors. I now have a single error in the list: "Terminating validation due to too many errors." although a number of other errors are still flagged in the text of the HTML file.

I tried increasing the max. errors number in the configuration but this doesn't help. I also tried running the program under an Admin account (I normally never work in an Admin account) but the only change there was that I had to go through the whole registration procedure again.

Any solutions? If I can only find and correct the first 20 errors in a file it's not really very useful... 8)

PS: Having Beginner Mode on or off also doesn't make any difference.
Regards,
Tim

User avatar
Albert Wiersch
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3415
Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2004 9:23 am
Location: Near Dallas, TX
Contact:

Re: Bug in max. error count

Post by Albert Wiersch » Mon May 30, 2005 8:24 am

Tim Green wrote:Unfortunately there seems to be a bug in the Max. Error Count function:

Even if I correct all the errors flagged in the list the program refuses to display messages for any more errors. I now have a single error in the list: "Terminating validation due to too many errors." although a number of other errors are still flagged in the text of the HTML file.

I tried increasing the max. errors number in the configuration but this doesn't help. I also tried running the program under an Admin account (I normally never work in an Admin account) but the only change there was that I had to go through the whole registration procedure again.

Any solutions? If I can only find and correct the first 20 errors in a file it's not really very useful... 8)

PS: Having Beginner Mode on or off also doesn't make any difference.
Hi Tim,

The errors could be in the other tabs, like the Grouped Messages, Accessibility, or Styles or tab. Have you looked there?
Image
Albert Wiersch

Tim Green
Rank 0 - Newcomer
Rank 0 - Newcomer
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon May 30, 2005 2:04 am
Location: Bruehl, Germany
Contact:

Re: Bug in max. error count

Post by Tim Green » Mon May 30, 2005 8:49 am

Hi Albert,
Albert Wiersch wrote:The errors could be in the other tabs, like the Grouped Messages, Accessibility, or Styles or tab. Have you looked there?
Oops... thanks... :? I didn't look there yet because I assumed that all messages would be grouped under the Messages heading. Also, the other headings didn't look like tabs.

BTW: It would be really nice if it was possible to make the messages list a bit higher, or even better to undock it. As it is its much too low and it makes scrolling through it very difficult.
Regards,
Tim

User avatar
Albert Wiersch
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3415
Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2004 9:23 am
Location: Near Dallas, TX
Contact:

Re: Bug in max. error count

Post by Albert Wiersch » Mon May 30, 2005 9:10 am

Tim Green wrote:BTW: It would be really nice if it was possible to make the messages list a bit higher, or even better to undock it. As it is its much too low and it makes scrolling through it very difficult.
Hi Tim,

You can change the size of the Results Window (where the messages are listed) by placing the mouse on the appropriate splitter and then dragging it to where you want. The splitter is only a few pixels wide/tall to save space so you have to be accurate/careful. By doing this you can make the Results Window much bigger. You can't undock it though.
Image
Albert Wiersch

Tim Green
Rank 0 - Newcomer
Rank 0 - Newcomer
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon May 30, 2005 2:04 am
Location: Bruehl, Germany
Contact:

Post by Tim Green » Mon May 30, 2005 9:20 am

Albert,

Thanks, got it now. I actually tried several times to find a horizontal splitter but it didn't "show up" on my mouse. Now that you told me it was there I found it immediately, of course. Strange phenomenon... :roll:
Regards,
Tim

Post Reply