Page 1 of 1

File-OpenWith-forms are gone

Posted: Tue Oct 10, 2006 9:38 pm
by Cheyenne
Hey, what happened in 8? I go to file, open with, and I am used to the 8 selections I had, 4 each in strict, transitional, frameset, and another one.

Where did you put them??????

Please help me as I am trying to use the Validator and XHTML at the same time.

Thank you. :D

Posted: Wed Oct 11, 2006 6:03 am
by Albert Wiersch
Hello,

Sorry, I do not understand. There is no File->Open With in CSE HTML Validator.

Do you mean the blank document templates when you go to File->New from Template? They should still be there in v8.0.

Posted: Wed Oct 11, 2006 9:35 am
by Cheyenne
Do you mean the blank document templates when you go to File->New from Template? They should still be there in v8.0.
Not on my copy.

After New from Template, I get the choices ib Blank Document, Refresh, Quick Help.

Just to let you know my field of expertise, I'd be considered very knowledgable on computers. :D

Posted: Wed Oct 11, 2006 9:48 am
by Albert Wiersch
The template files should be stored in a "NewTemplates" folder where the CSE HTML Validator program files are, like "C:\Program Files\HTMLValidator80\NewTemplates" for v8.0. Do you have this folder and are the templates in there? If not, then you may want to try reinstalling the program to restore these files.

I hope this helps.

Posted: Wed Oct 11, 2006 11:29 am
by Cheyenne
Templetes are there.

But before I do any deleting/installing - 2 questions

1. Is 8.0 built on 7.0?
2. Before reinstalling, do I delete 8? or 8 and 7?

Don't want to mess things up here and be without nothing! :D

Posted: Wed Oct 11, 2006 11:37 am
by Albert Wiersch
Cheyenne wrote:Templetes are there.

But before I do any deleting/installing - 2 questions

1. Is 8.0 built on 7.0?
2. Before reinstalling, do I delete 8? or 8 and 7?

Don't want to mess things up here and be without nothing! :D
1. Yes, I would say v8.0 is built on v7.0. They're very similar in appearance and work in the same way. v8.0 just has some new features, improvements, and fixes.

2. I would remove all versions prior to 8, then install or reinstall v8.0010.

3. If the above doesn't work, then you could try uninstalling v8.00 and answering "Yes" to the "Full uninstall" question. Then reinstall v8.00 and re-register it. Note that all your config settings will be lost if you do this. Everything should revert back to default settings.

Posted: Wed Oct 11, 2006 12:56 pm
by Cheyenne
:D Things are working again. :D

:D Thank you. :D