Page 1 of 2

Editor text hard to read

Posted: Tue May 05, 2015 4:15 pm
by esm
Hi,

Is there any setting to increase the contrast of the editor text?

I can change the colors, etc. but the entire text looks like it's kind of grayed out, hard to read.

Thanks,

Ed

Re: Editor text hard to read

Posted: Tue May 19, 2015 3:29 am
by gwmbox
There are many settings in the Options of Topstyle under the Editor - Color Coding where you can change the text colours to suit your needs. I have a specific set of colours I like for css, html, js and php plus I have also (with my poor eyesight, increased the overall font size.

You can change both text and background colours, this really is a user setting you need to just play with ;)

You can also change the font, I use Bitstream Vera Sans Mono - you can download it here http://www.dafont.com/bitstream-vera-mono.font

Re: Editor text hard to read

Posted: Thu May 21, 2015 12:41 pm
by esm
I have changed colors, fonts, etc. All that works fine.

However, the overall text is almost grayed-out, no contrast, very hard to read.

It's a pity for this fine piece of software.

Ed

Re: Editor text hard to read

Posted: Thu Jun 04, 2015 11:25 pm
by gwmbox
Overall text? Can you do a screen grab and post here so I can see what you mean? I have one of the issues you describe.

Re: Editor text hard to read

Posted: Fri Jun 05, 2015 10:09 am
by esm
Here's a screen shot.

Re: Editor text hard to read

Posted: Sun Jun 14, 2015 6:21 pm
by gwmbox
Sorry for the delay in replying, I don't visit these forums often enough, I will subscribe to the thread to get a message about your replies :)

That is certainly not normal

Can I suggest you go to Options > Options > Editor > Color Coding

Then select the Reset to Default Color Coding

It should look something like;

Image

If that still fails get back to me (us) and we can try and sort it out with other suggestions.

Re: Editor text hard to read

Posted: Sun Jun 14, 2015 9:48 pm
by esm
I did as you suggested but, alas, it did not change one bit.

If I 'd see the edit text as you see it, I'd be more than happy.

Like you, Old Homesite fan using Topstyle 5, not really happy.

Thanks for all the help.

Ed

Re: Editor text hard to read

Posted: Sun Jun 14, 2015 11:40 pm
by gwmbox
OK how about trying my settings and see if that sorts it out.

See the attached, unzip and copy it to your

USER\AppData\Roaming\Bradsoft.com\TopStyle\5.0\schemes folder

Let me know if this helps at all.

Re: Editor text hard to read

Posted: Mon Jun 15, 2015 10:02 am
by esm
It worked!!!

A whole lot better, thanks a lot.

While I'm at it, is there any way to place an "Undo" button somewhere on a tool bar?

Sometimes I go 10 steps forward to check if a certain design thingy looks good and then, when I don't like it, I have to go back to "Edit" --> "Undo" ten times, which is very annoying.

Thanks again,

Ed

Re: Editor text hard to read

Posted: Mon Jun 15, 2015 6:07 pm
by gwmbox
Excellent news :)

To add the undo and redo buttons you need to ensure that the Site tool bar is active and then the items you want to display are shown
topstyle-tool-bar-buttons.png
topstyle-tool-bar-buttons.png (71.54 KiB) Viewed 7786 times
Cheers

Re: Editor text hard to read

Posted: Mon Jun 15, 2015 7:30 pm
by esm
The Site item is selected but, for the life of me, I can't locate that site tool bar.

Maybe I had one beer to many.

Ed

Re: Editor text hard to read

Posted: Mon Jun 15, 2015 9:44 pm
by gwmbox
Turn them all off and then re-select the Site toolbar and see if it shows up and then add specific buttons ;)

Re: Editor text hard to read

Posted: Tue Jun 16, 2015 10:02 am
by esm
Sorry, I may be a bit dense.

I just can't find it.

Never mind.

Thanks anyway.

ED

Re: Editor text hard to read

Posted: Tue Jun 16, 2015 11:32 am
by esm
Finally figured it out.

It's the edit toolbar.

Thanks,

Ed

Re: Editor text hard to read

Posted: Tue Jun 16, 2015 6:33 pm
by gwmbox
hmm mine is the Site one, but the Edit one makes more sense, maybe I modified it quite a while ago :)