Changings

Post here if your topic is about CSS HTML Validator but doesn't fit in another forum.
Post Reply
Walter Metzger
Rank II - Novice
Rank II - Novice
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2008 12:57 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Changings

Post by Walter Metzger »

I use Validator pro.
When I write in german (as example)
Größte Änderung überall
I have to change like
Größte Änderung äberall
and more changes too rarely.

I use in Validator Search and Replace for one change, than the next and so on. Is in Validator a possibility, to do this changings for all I want at once (comparable with a batch file) in an opened html-file?

Thanks for help
Walter
Last edited by Walter Metzger on Mon Nov 24, 2008 5:15 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Albert Wiersch
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3494
Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2004 9:23 am
Location: Near Dallas, TX
Contact:

Post by Albert Wiersch »

Hello,

It sounds like you want to do search and replace multiple search and replace strings at one time? Sorry, that is not currently possible in CSE HTML Validator. You may want to look into a dedicated search and replace tool.

I've used ReplaceEm before:
http://www.htmlvalidator.com/htmlval/resources.html

It can be confusing to use though, and I may have had some issues with it due to Vista if you're using Vista.

Walter Metzger
Rank II - Novice
Rank II - Novice
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2008 12:57 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Changings

Post by Walter Metzger »

Thank You Albert,

I think replacem could be the software, I look for, but I have great problems,
it does not come with easy to understand instructions. I cannot realize to change more than one letter or one word (My english ist perhaps not enough).
I realize change one as example: ä to ä
but nothing more in the same starting of replace, I wish to have possible changings for ö and Ö and Ä and many more too.

I do not find instructions in the www. Can You give me please a tip for instructions.
I know, that is not the "doing" for CSE HTML Validator, but I only say "please".

I do not use Vista, but XP professional.

Greetings
Walter

Walter Metzger
Rank II - Novice
Rank II - Novice
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2008 12:57 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Walter Metzger »

No more special help necessary for my problem.

I have found my mistake.
It tried to replace ä to ä and Ä to Ä in the same row.

Without success!!

Now I replaced ä to ä in the first row,
Ä to Ä in the second row and so on.
All replacements are done.
Also: for each new replacement first create a new row and then edit.

But if anyone could give me tips for more instructions in the www, this
would be good, because there are other (not important) questions open.

Greetings
Walter

User avatar
Albert Wiersch
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3494
Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2004 9:23 am
Location: Near Dallas, TX
Contact:

Post by Albert Wiersch »

I'm glad you were able to figure it out. I agree that it is not the most user-friendly program to use! I am usually confused by it too. :D

Also, I don't use it that often so I am not completely familiar with it.

I do know that there is some documentation that comes with it, so hopefully that will be of some use even though I think it's still confusing.

Post Reply